Tropical Lime Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
An excellent recipe. Instead of making the glaze, I used cream cheese frosting, and it was a hit! However, if you make it in a glass pie pan, let it cool for about an hour before you try to remove it. My first attempt crumbled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I found this cake to be way to heavy. If I made it again I'd reduce the oil to one quarter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is an excellent cake. In the fridge is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was delicious and easy! I used a sugar free lemon cake mix, sugar free gelatin, and Splenda to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was excellent. I only used four eggs because I only had jumbo eggs on hand. Five seemed like a lot anyway. Next time I will cut the amount of glaze in half - that's about all I could actually get to soak into the cake and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I have made this cake twice in the last two weeks - the first for my son's birthday and the second for a picnic. The first time I used raspberry jello and frozen raspberry lemonade in place of the orange juice. I mixed the leftover lemonade with the powdered sugar for the glaze. I think because I used the lemonade without diluting it, there was a stronger flavor. The second time I followed the recipe as written. Both times I made it in a bundt pan which turned out well. Both versions were very well received. Next time I'll try orange jello with the orange juice and glaze. Overall, it's a very good recipe you can play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This cake was a HUGE hit. It's easy and doesn't take too much time. I made it in a Bundt pan and it turned out great. It is a tan color on the outside and then bright green on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Oh, my! This was a huge hit at my house. I love to bake, but am not much of a sweet eater. Let's put it this way, I ate way more than one piece of cake! It is so easy to make and it isn't super sweet. I used key lime juice instead of fresh lime juice. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melvin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
What a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
A variation of this recipe has been in my family for 4 generations (originally from my great-aunt, now to my children). It is a favorite, and always requested at our summer gatherings. Quick, simple, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States