Tropical Lime Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
really good i added some lime extract to the glaze because i like sour desserts .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good! I used yellow cake mix instead of lemon because that was all I had. This is just like the one my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Because it began with a cake mix and because of some of the reviews, I set out to make this with low hopes and poor expectations, all of them dashed. I was prepared for the cake to be ugly – it isn’t. It has a pretty, golden exterior and the cake itself a delicate and pretty pastel green. Too sweet and too limey, some reviews said – nope, it’s just right. In fact, in hindsight I would have added some grated lime zest, maybe a tablespoon. Tastes awful, SO like a cake mix. Wrong again. While I don’t necessarily think it would fool anybody, it nevertheless does not have that obvious commercial cake mix taste, tho’ I’m convinced this is because I started out with a French Vanilla cake mix – better, as far as I’m concerned, than lemon, yellow or white cake mixes. I thought maybe a cup of oil would make this heavy and greasy but it was not. Again, I used a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix (deliberately, as with all this oil I did NOT want a pudding-included cake mix). I used fresh-squeezed orange juice, which really was why I chose this recipe in the first place as I had a number of oranges to use. I baked it in a Bundt pan, 325 degrees for about 55-60 minutes. Fearful of infusing any more moisture or sweetness into the cake, I did not use the recipe’s glaze. I used a simple powdered sugar and fresh lime juice glaze. I’m pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this cake for church Saturday. Made the glaze (halved the recipe for the glaze) and poured over warm cake. Also took advice and put Cool Whip over the cake with lime zest and slices of lime. Husband said cake "way too sweet." Had hoped that the Cool Whip would bring down the sweetness--kinda had a feeling that cake would be too sweet. Next time I eliminate the glaze and just put Cool Whip over it with the lime zest and lime slices. The cake was not a dud though. Smelled wonderful and was told that it was absolutely moist. Will make it again with changes. Still thinks it's worth 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I had my doubts about his one (all that oil and 5 eggs and ?? Jello!??) but I had too many limes and was looking for a recipe to use some of them up. I made this earlier today and just tasted it. It's REALLY good! As many of the other reviewers mentioned, this could easily be changed up using different combos of cake and jello but I really like it the way it is. I will definitely make this one again and again - it will be nice to serve in the summer on the deck. All that lime reminds me a little of Margarittas. The color is quite pretty! The glaze soaked in making the cake super moist - a little tart and a little sweet, all at once. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Cake was neon green, so it was festive. Adding the glaze made the cake very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I thought this was ok - the flavor was good but it was hard to frost, very sticky and almost too 'wet'. If you were just going to "frost" it with cool whip I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentone, Indiana, USA
Photo by Etravia
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was very moist and flavorful. Great cake for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Etravia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I served this at a party, and although I personally really enjoyed this cake, my guests were not thrilled. I am known for making great desserts, and they all said that this was not their favorite. The main problem people had with the cake was that the lime flavor was very overwhelming. I however, thought it was very tasty! To make the top a little prettier, I sprinkled powered sugar and green sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States