Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful! However I did not have time to make the salsa, so I just used a jar of Renfro's mango habanero salsa with the addition of some pineapple juice to replace the handmade fruit salsa... BAM! It was done in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My family and I loved these pork chops. I will definitely be making this again. I did cheat and use Newman's Mango Salsa instead of cutting up mango, and added it to the vinegar, soy and sugar. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I live in a fairly small town so my local grocery store is not what you would call "well-stocked" so the cardomum seeds and the rice wine vinegar were items I had to track down. Also, the mortar and pestle is something you pick up at a garage sale as decoration and not something used in the kitchen. I followed the instructions and used a mini chopper instead of the mortar and pestle. I also doubled the marinade recipe and used have as a marinade and the other half for basting. I am not big on heating used marinade for basting (I guess it's a bug thing I have). The tenderness of the chops depends on your grilling ability. The chops went well with the spicy salsa. Served with steamed rice and was a big hit. Great recipe all around and will do again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent. I put rosemary on the Pork before marinating and substituted coriander for cardamom seeds. I also baked the pork at 350 for about 50 minutes instead of grilling. I put salsa with it in the pan and sealed it with aluminum foil. It probably tasted differently than grilling but came out very tender. It definitely had some kick, I'm going to enjoy eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
We LOVE this! It is a regular feature during grilling season at our house! As others have mentioned, we used a jar of Newman's Own Mango Salsa, and then added the vinagar and soy to that for the marinade. I also double batch the marinade and mix with a little sugar, as my husband likes to put some over rice with this dish. Wonderful; my kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
OUTSTANDING flavor! I've used chicken also with great success. I used coriander for the cardamom seeds and had to resort to frozen chunked mango but all was still great. I love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the jalapenos. THIS WAS OUTRAGEOUS! I couldn't stop tasting the simmered ingredients! The key to any pork chop is not to overcook it and to only turn it once on the grill (never close the lid while cooking meet and it's stays moist). Will be adding this to my rotation of dinners. I'm going to try this marinade with grilled salmon and shrimp next...OH YUM...a MUST DO recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wow, these were delicious! When I read the recipe, I wasn't sure how it would taste, given the amalgamation of ingredients (e.g. white pepper has a very pungent flavor and so I always want to use it very sparingly) but when I cooked the chutney ingredients together as written, I realized that the flavor combination is excellent. Instead of grilling, I just covered the chops in the sauce and baked in the oven for an hour at 350 degrees. Served over rice. It tasted great. Thanks for the recipe - I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Best pork chops EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Made this perfectly in one shot, I made sure to use real thick pork chops also. Do not understand the other reviews where people subbed a canned salsa, why don't you just go to McDonalds and get a Mcrib while your at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States