Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but the sauce still turned out great without the cayenne pepper, cardamom seeds, or cilantro. I used canned diced jalapenos and probably more than what the recipe called for. Also, I used it on baked salmon, but will be trying it on the pork chops tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made these pork chops tonight and they were absolutely delicious!! Even my 3 teenage sons ate every bite! Will keep this recipe for future meals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I am not a huge fan of spicy but man that salsa was good! My husband raved and wanted me to make another batch! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The pork chops came out yummy and would make them again. However, I would reduce the amount of apple sauce - I used 3 of the single serve, 4 oz. type and would use only one next time. There is too much chutney/relish left. I also used canned mango and would NOT recommend this. When I went to buy the mango, the store only had unripe mangoes so I got the canned variety. The canned stuff does not taste like mangoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
We LOVE this! It is a regular feature during grilling season at our house! As others have mentioned, we used a jar of Newman's Own Mango Salsa, and then added the vinagar and soy to that for the marinade. I also double batch the marinade and mix with a little sugar, as my husband likes to put some over rice with this dish. Wonderful; my kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the jalapenos. THIS WAS OUTRAGEOUS! I couldn't stop tasting the simmered ingredients! The key to any pork chop is not to overcook it and to only turn it once on the grill (never close the lid while cooking meet and it's stays moist). Will be adding this to my rotation of dinners. I'm going to try this marinade with grilled salmon and shrimp next...OH YUM...a MUST DO recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I gave these 4 stars, they were fantastic. I didn’t use the cardamom, the store I went to was out, so I left it out. After dinner I was looking at the recipe and notice I forgot to add the pineapple and the applesauce. Not sure how I forgot it but maybe if I had used it, then this would have been 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These take a while to make, so I would suggest making a double or triple recipe of the marinade for future use. Well worth the time, though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
With 5 star reviews, I had high expectations... and they were exceeded! Delicous. We're unpacking from a move, the grill isn't accessible so I fried the chops (with the marinade) in a covered skillet, medium heat, for 7-8 mins per side. This reduced the marinade to a concentrated mouth watering mixture of distinct tropical flavors. Compared to the refrigerated salsa, the cooked/reduced version was far tastier. So next time all the salsa is going into the skillet with the chops along with the marinade. We have half an "organic" pig (ever seen an "inorganic" pig?) still in our freezer with a dozen pork chops packages that are all a bit tough. The marinade even softened them up enough so our jaws didn't hurt from the chewing. With babysitting the salsa, 15 mins prep time was more like 45 for me. Maybe we'll make a "pot load of salsa next time. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick L.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Fantastic!! We tend not to eat pork chops much since they are usually so bland. When we do have them, I always serve applesauce with it so when I saw the recipe, I couldn't resist. I did not change a thing on this and it was great. The spiciness melds so good with the sweetness of the pineapples and mango. In fact, that was the first time I ever tried fresh mango! Grilled some thick chops perfectly (for a change) and had a generous topping of the salsa. Couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States