Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I gave these 4 stars, they were fantastic. I didn’t use the cardamom, the store I went to was out, so I left it out. After dinner I was looking at the recipe and notice I forgot to add the pineapple and the applesauce. Not sure how I forgot it but maybe if I had used it, then this would have been 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These take a while to make, so I would suggest making a double or triple recipe of the marinade for future use. Well worth the time, though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
With 5 star reviews, I had high expectations... and they were exceeded! Delicous. We're unpacking from a move, the grill isn't accessible so I fried the chops (with the marinade) in a covered skillet, medium heat, for 7-8 mins per side. This reduced the marinade to a concentrated mouth watering mixture of distinct tropical flavors. Compared to the refrigerated salsa, the cooked/reduced version was far tastier. So next time all the salsa is going into the skillet with the chops along with the marinade. We have half an "organic" pig (ever seen an "inorganic" pig?) still in our freezer with a dozen pork chops packages that are all a bit tough. The marinade even softened them up enough so our jaws didn't hurt from the chewing. With babysitting the salsa, 15 mins prep time was more like 45 for me. Maybe we'll make a "pot load of salsa next time. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick L.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Fantastic!! We tend not to eat pork chops much since they are usually so bland. When we do have them, I always serve applesauce with it so when I saw the recipe, I couldn't resist. I did not change a thing on this and it was great. The spiciness melds so good with the sweetness of the pineapples and mango. In fact, that was the first time I ever tried fresh mango! Grilled some thick chops perfectly (for a change) and had a generous topping of the salsa. Couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
the salsa was great and surprised me, i usually dont care for fruit on protein but even my 5 y/o liked the salsa, he thought he was getting to eat dessert with dinner. My husband gave some great advice for sides for this as i struggled to figure out what would pair with this, sweet potato fries, or a baked sweet potato, with a little butter. The salsa could get on the potatoes and you probably wouldnt mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ma_of2buckaroos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
One of the best pork chop recipes that we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wow, these were delicious! When I read the recipe, I wasn't sure how it would taste, given the amalgamation of ingredients (e.g. white pepper has a very pungent flavor and so I always want to use it very sparingly) but when I cooked the chutney ingredients together as written, I realized that the flavor combination is excellent. Instead of grilling, I just covered the chops in the sauce and baked in the oven for an hour at 350 degrees. Served over rice. It tasted great. Thanks for the recipe - I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe was absolutely delicious! My boyfriend HATES the idea of fruit and meat and HATES applesauce and he devoured it! The marinade is absolutely perfect with the pork chops. I wouldn't cahnge a thing! Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darielmac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were great!Made them twice now. They come off the grill looking beautiful. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States