Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was amazing! I didn't have soy sauce or pineapple, but used two mango, and a bit of worstishire sauce. i also cut the sugar in half, but it could be omitted as i thought it was sweet enough with the fruit. cooked the pork in the marinade. I then used this as the protein and the dressing on my salad. Wow, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Perfect! My wife loves it when I make these chops. They are time consuming, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The basic structure of this recipe is so perfect it didn't matter that I had to make some changes(I didn't have mangos, rice wine vinegar, or jalapeno and I only had 3/4cup of applesauce) So here we go: for the "marinade" I used 2/3cup plain medium salsa, soy sauce, & a scant 1/3cup plain white vinegar with a little seasoned sushi rice vinegar to make it 1/3cup (this type of vinegar is highly seasoned w/sugar & salt so you'll see why I made other adjustments below). For the "salsa" sauce I used 1clove garlic, 1tsp chili powder, & only 1/8tsp red pepper, then added 1/8cup white vinegar & 1/8cup of the sushi vinegar, omitted the salt & used 2 TSP splenda blend (which is equiv of 1/4 cup sugar). In a food processor I blended one can of drained peaches (the no sugar added kind), 3/4cup applesauce, 2tsp fresh lemon juice, & prob 1/4cup fresh cilantro leaves(I LOVE cilantro). Added the peaches mixture to the spices/vinegar as directed & let this simmer for about 20 min(ended up using 1tsp of corn startch to thicken it b/c it looked watery), lastly added 1cup of drained coarsely chopped pineapple chunks and generous pinch of white pepper. I baked 4 pork chops in the "marinade" (covered 350/375 for approx 45 min) set them aside to stay warm & boiled the marinade until it was super thick. To serve, dip the chop in the thick glaze, place on a bed of brown/wild rice, spoon over the "salsa" & garnish with chopped cilantro, lemon zest, & some sauteed red bell pepper. YUM! Thanks Eve11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pork tasted fabulous with the marinade. I would not recommend the utilizing the marinade after it has been over the meat. Just use the remaining 1/3 of the salsa for additional flavor to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
very nice. I didn't have cardomom pods on hand and used ground cardomom which I do have....had to guess at the amount and used 1/4 tsp. I didn';t want spicy ot overpower the delicate cardomom and mango flavor so I only used 1/8 tsp of red pepper....but that is personal taste. You can add more or less to suit your own heat taste. This makes a lot of leftovers...either cut the sauce in half or use it on something else later. As another posted noted....it is good on chicken to use the leftovers! For those that like the spice on the milder side I have also made without the jalepeno and that was excellent too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
it's good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum, yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ordway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were delicious!! I used a pork butt steak instead of the chops and marinated it overnight, turning every 8 hours or so. I also omitted the cayenne from the salsa and didn't have cardamom, but honestly we thought the salsa was delicious without it! I baked the steak in the marinade at 350, turning it once every 20 minutes for about 50-60 minutes, just until it was done (covered for the first 40, then uncovered for the remaining time). We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used this recipe with salmon instead of pork and it was awesome! The salsa was delicious, but I would cut those ingredients in half as there was a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States