Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I so wanted to love this recipe. I prepared it exactly as written. The salsa was delicious - right up to the point of adding the applesauce. Applesauce ruined the texture and taste. Following through, I added the vinegar to the marinade then grilled the chops. All I could taste was vinegar. Now I'm trying to decide how to salvage the meat I couldn't eat. I'm giving this recipe two stars for the salsa which I will make again without the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These were delish! Instead of mango I used a can of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
FANTASTIC! this is the only pork chop recipe you will ever need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 16yroldcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It was as good as it looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This would have been 5 stars except for the fact that I had to make a change to the recipe. I cut the sugar in half, but it was still too sweet. With all the fruit, even though I used unsweetened pineapple and applesauce, there is no need to add more sugar. I tasted it partway through and stopped after adding half the amount called for. Next time I will omit the sugar, and then it will be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Bursting with flavors!! Sweet, sour, with a kick! The entire family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Everyone liked this, even the kids but its a was quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe prepared exactly as posted! However, fresh mango can be a difficult item to locate in some areas, especially rural areas in the middle of winter. For when mango is out of season, buy it tinned and use the juice - do not add the sugar. Or, as some have suggested, buy a jar of prepared mango salsa :-) When I am strapped for time, I prepare the salsa the day before and chill it overnight with the meat, and cook the marinade to use as a baste - cooking kills all the bugs that may have been left by the raw pork. For those who, like me, do not have a food processor, a mortar and pestle works great and creates a nice paste. ;-) A very nice, tasty recipe overall and will be prepared here often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was fantastic just as written! And as far as a reviewer that said they did not recommend using the marinade after is had been over meat..well it is fine to use. The recipe here tells you to boil it first. I don't think it would have been as flavorful without that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Short on time so used Renfros mango habanero salsa instead of making my own. Will definitely make from scratch next time - I'm sure it will be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States