Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
As usual, I didn't follow the recipe. I had a bottle of cardamom seed... No idea how much a pod is so I put the seed on top of the chili powder and cayenne pepper... About half of the cayenne pepper... I tasted the seed... Wasn't impressed. Tasted dirty. The marinade tasted wonderful right before I added the applesauce. I want happy about the addition of applesauce so I decided to not add the soy sauce or the additional rice wine vinegar... The pork chops were omg good! The family really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This delicious dish was the first dish my boyfriend and I made together. We used all the ingredients except for the pineapple (could not find pineapple rings in the store + too cheap to buy a whole pineapple :D )and I must say - IT IS AMAAAAAAAAZING! We used hot chilli powder because we were unsure what heat to use - and woaw what a salsa! We'll be boasting about that salsa for years to come! The only change I would make in the future would be to experiment with different pork meats and marinade for longer. It is a really easy dish to make and I highly recommend it - especially the salsa chutney - you don't know what your missing! Delicious even when using the cheapest ingredients out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niko+Nath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Delicious. Especially when left to marinate for overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
For taste I'm giving it a 5 star review. This was very good and had some nice heat to it. I used half a jalapeno since the one I bought was on the large side. For written instructions I would give it a 4. I felt that there were too many individual steps within step 2. In fact, I missed a step and had to alter the cooking process slightly. I'm a seasoned cook and I very rarely miss a step as I read recipes before I even begin. So, next time I make this I'm going to highlight out the steps in bullet point 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This recipe had a great taste probably would have been better on the grill. The best part was the salsa. I would recommend letting it marinate for more than an hour. Im giving it 4 stars because making the salsa is a lot of work. more than 15 minutes for prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blahs4life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good! I don't really eat pork but my hubby loves it, so if I cook it, I want to make sure I really make it count. This was so good, I even enjoyed it! I tried to follow the recipe to a tee but I'm not even going to pretend what a "cardamom pod" is. I did search my local grocery but I didn't even know where to look, produce?, spices?... I did find a tiny bottle of ground cardamom for $12.99!!! Yeah, I substituted. I used a sprinkle of ginger and a few sprinkles of nutmeg as suggested on a Google search. I also don't know if there's much of a difference with unsweetened applesauce and no sugar added but the only kind I had was no sugar added which was still worked fine. I do think the amount of sauce is a bit excessive though, I had a lot left over which I froze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Best pork chops ever!! I changed two things. I used peaches instead of mangos and since I hate rice wine I used white wine vinegar. Fixing it tonight over blackened salmon (without the marinated). A good idea for a side is to cut up flour tortillas into triangles and fry in olive oil. Serve with the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
One of the best recipes I've ever made! I used hot pepper flakes (about 1 tsp.) instead of cayenne pepper, and seeds from about 4 pods of cardamom. I can't get applesauce where I live, so made my own with gala apples the day before. Well worth the work! Served with spicy black beans and fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The end result was tasty, but this is definitely a plan-ahead meal. The salsa took a bit of work to prepare and next time I will just make it in the morning or even the day before. I skipped making the spice paste and just combined the items in the saucepan. I only used a small amount of jalapeno since we do not like things too spicy and I also used fresh pineapple. Because of the weather I had to cook my chops on the stovetop, but I think grilling would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I had to make a few changes to the recipe, I couldn't locate Rice Wine Vinegar, so I substituted Cider Vinegar. I didn't have a Mango, but I had frozen peaches. The salsa was sweet, and had quite the bite. I am not a fan of spicy food, but this was different!! My 15 year old son actually ate a second helping for like the first time EVER!! It was really good! Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Strieder Holscher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States