Tropical Coconut Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I was leery, because I don't usually like coconut based soups. I love coconut in my food in general, just not in soup. I added jerk seasoning, and a few shakes of cumin, and a dash of chili powder. It was bland until I did that. Now it is perfect! I pureed everything with my immersion blender. I wish that I had left more chunks, and saved the peas until after. I would also reccomend a tiny bit less peas. They are a little over powering. Over all this is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
A nice base recipe but rather bland as written. I added cumin, red chili powder, and some cinnamon. I cut the amount of peas in half because I wanted to enjoy the coconut flavor, which I brought out even more by sprinkling each bowl with some shredded, unsweetened coconut. Nice recipe to start with, but be sure to add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is possibly the worst recipe I have tried so far on Allrecipes.com. If I could give it zero stars, I would. The peas completely overpowered the rest of the flavors, including the coconut milk. I could not doctor it up to make it better. No one liked it in my house and we are not picky eaters and love trying new foods. Next time I try to make a "tropical" black bean soup I will definitely leave out the peas. I have heard of adding plantains, which sounds much better. Those might overpower the coconut, but they would be much better than peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
After reading the reviews, I fried up some chopped sweet onion, minced garlic, chopped carrot in coconut oil, added cumin, cajun seasoning, pinch of pepper flakes; instead of water I used the water that the dry beans had been cooked in and added chicken bouillon paste (Better Than Bouillon), added juice of one lime and pureed only 1/2 the batch. Served with sprinkle of dried cilantro leaves but would use fresh if on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Freakin' yummy. I cooked my own beans at home and threw in a little chili powder and cumin. I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Because I made my own coconut milk, with the coconut, I had plenty of flavor. I cooked the dried black beans and added spices, peas and more water. This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was pretty good, but I agree with other revieiwers - it's all about the spices. I used leftover black beans that I had cooked from dry, and they were pretty spicy, so the soup had a lot of flavor. I could tell that it would have been bland if I had used a plain can of beans (not exactly sure what mexican-seasoned ones are, I've never bought those). Thanks for the simple recipe, it made a great lunch for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
We have a vegan in the house so we substituted vegetable broth for the chicken. Also substituted corn for the peas (added them at the end so they weren't pureed). We prefer our soup a little thicker so we added two cans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I didnt have peas (and dont like them) so instead I used about 1/4 c of roasted red peppers (from a jar), which was delicious! The next time I tried it with sauteed onion and red peppers, and that was pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe, however, my family didn't care for this soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States