Tropical Baked Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for a big "Cuban food" party I hosted. It went well with the pork roast, rice and beans we served. I didn't add the coconut but it was still good. Very easy to prepare ahead and just throw in the oven 10 minutes before chow time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These bananas were fabulous! I had some turning bananas, but my roommates and I are sick of banana bread so I went in search of something different. I only had 3 bananas to use, so I modified the recipe a bit. I did not cream the butter and sugar. Instead, I just drizzled orange juice on the bananas, sprinkled with brown sugar, dotted the top with butter, and sprinkled on a handful of coconut. This was not too sweet... perfect for using up extra bananas. I think using less butter and sugar is better, as it just gives the banana flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Wow! This recipe was great. My husband raved about it and stated he will never again throw away spotty bananas if this is what can be done with them. The only change i made to the recipe was to simply sprinkle all ingredients on top of the bananas then dot with butter, rather than creaming them together with the butter. I think next time i make this recipe i will slice the bananas into coins instead of slicing lengthwise to make it easier to serve over top of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this for my mother, father and husband and they all loved it! We put whipped topping ontop. If you like cloves you'll love this! My mom is not a fan of bananas but she was raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made these for me and my wife and they turned out better than I could have expected. I also served the bananas over french vanilla frozen yogurt with cinnamon sprinkled on top and it really made it a great well rounded dessert. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inbetweenlines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My family LOVED this! I had some bananas that didn't really seem pretty enough to eat plain, so I searched for a way to cook them instead (as to not waste them). I decided to try this recipe because it was so very simple. I did as most others did, and sprinkled the banans with the ingredients and dotted with butter instead of creaming it together. Also, I used freshed squeezed clementine oranged instead of OJ (I used more because fresh squeezed is milder than OJ). I also drizzled the bananas with dark rum (a VERY little). It came out fabulous and would have been even tastier with vanilla icecream or frozen yogurt. Super easy! Will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklyn_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was much better than I had expected--the thought of warm bananas was a turn off. I had some bananas I wanted to use up and was tired of my usual methods. This turned out wonderful. I, like others, simply sprinkled the sugar and butter on top (I decreased the amount of sugar). Instead of orange juice I added a peeled and sliced fresh orange (I think pineaple would be a good addition as well). Very good over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was awesome. I made it with lamb and spinach orzo. Went great with it. My Kids liked it a lot. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Yummy! I didn't have any cloves, but I did have some brown sugar, a bit of Vanilla extract and a spalsh of orange juice. I added these 3 ingredients to a pan of a bit of melted butter and it was sooo good! I didn't have any banana's but I did have some very ripe plantains and it was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDE RANCES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was a very quick and easy recipe. Loved it!! will certainly be making this again soon! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States