Tropical Baked Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Delicious! Pefect if you have a craving for something sweet, but are short on time! I cut the recipe in half and subbed a little cinnamon and nutmeg for the cloves. I toasted the coconut vs. baking it and spinkled it over top when the bananas were done baking. I served this with vanilla ice cream - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Wow! This recipe was great. My husband raved about it and stated he will never again throw away spotty bananas if this is what can be done with them. The only change i made to the recipe was to simply sprinkle all ingredients on top of the bananas then dot with butter, rather than creaming them together with the butter. I think next time i make this recipe i will slice the bananas into coins instead of slicing lengthwise to make it easier to serve over top of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These bananas were fabulous! I had some turning bananas, but my roommates and I are sick of banana bread so I went in search of something different. I only had 3 bananas to use, so I modified the recipe a bit. I did not cream the butter and sugar. Instead, I just drizzled orange juice on the bananas, sprinkled with brown sugar, dotted the top with butter, and sprinkled on a handful of coconut. This was not too sweet... perfect for using up extra bananas. I think using less butter and sugar is better, as it just gives the banana flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for a big "Cuban food" party I hosted. It went well with the pork roast, rice and beans we served. I didn't add the coconut but it was still good. Very easy to prepare ahead and just throw in the oven 10 minutes before chow time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I was looking for a really quick and easy desert using bananas and this is definitely that. It's really tasty, a great light dessert. I love the fact that you get the taste of rum without the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This was a nice treat, but it lacked the "lightness" I was looking for. The bananas are packed with sugar...so much that I could hardly eat more than a couple of bites. But those few bites were delicious...especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Nice impromptu dessert when we found ourselves with a sweet tooth that needed to be quickly satisfied. I don't care for cloves so I omitted them, but added a dribble of vanilla. I left out the coconut as well, simply to suit our tastes. This was a little on the sweet side, so it definitely needs to be offset with some whipped cream or ice cream (and a drizzle of chocolate syrup). Not bad for a spur of the moment dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Nice recipe. The only change I made was to bake bananas for 15 minutes. Very good to serve them with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My family LOVED this! I had some bananas that didn't really seem pretty enough to eat plain, so I searched for a way to cook them instead (as to not waste them). I decided to try this recipe because it was so very simple. I did as most others did, and sprinkled the banans with the ingredients and dotted with butter instead of creaming it together. Also, I used freshed squeezed clementine oranged instead of OJ (I used more because fresh squeezed is milder than OJ). I also drizzled the bananas with dark rum (a VERY little). It came out fabulous and would have been even tastier with vanilla icecream or frozen yogurt. Super easy! Will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklyn_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I really wanted to like this... but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States