Tropical Baked Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I was looking for a really quick and easy desert using bananas and this is definitely that. It's really tasty, a great light dessert. I love the fact that you get the taste of rum without the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This was a nice treat, but it lacked the "lightness" I was looking for. The bananas are packed with sugar...so much that I could hardly eat more than a couple of bites. But those few bites were delicious...especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for a big "Cuban food" party I hosted. It went well with the pork roast, rice and beans we served. I didn't add the coconut but it was still good. Very easy to prepare ahead and just throw in the oven 10 minutes before chow time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I really wanted to like this... but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These bananas were fabulous! I had some turning bananas, but my roommates and I are sick of banana bread so I went in search of something different. I only had 3 bananas to use, so I modified the recipe a bit. I did not cream the butter and sugar. Instead, I just drizzled orange juice on the bananas, sprinkled with brown sugar, dotted the top with butter, and sprinkled on a handful of coconut. This was not too sweet... perfect for using up extra bananas. I think using less butter and sugar is better, as it just gives the banana flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
very yummy and sweet, a different twist on the quick dessert, only thing....it needs to be eaten pretty quickly because the bananas will turn brown if refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Wow! This recipe was great. My husband raved about it and stated he will never again throw away spotty bananas if this is what can be done with them. The only change i made to the recipe was to simply sprinkle all ingredients on top of the bananas then dot with butter, rather than creaming them together with the butter. I think next time i make this recipe i will slice the bananas into coins instead of slicing lengthwise to make it easier to serve over top of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Perfect when they're warm and over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this for my mother, father and husband and they all loved it! We put whipped topping ontop. If you like cloves you'll love this! My mom is not a fan of bananas but she was raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made these for me and my wife and they turned out better than I could have expected. I also served the bananas over french vanilla frozen yogurt with cinnamon sprinkled on top and it really made it a great well rounded dessert. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inbetweenlines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States