Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Love these cookies!!! Just made a batch and doubled it because of all the high ratings. I took the advise to use some shortening, so in my double batch I used 1c. butter and 1/2 c shortening. Cut down the soda to 3 tsp. for double batch and only used 1 1/2 c brown sugar. They are yummy and so close to Trader Joes Triple Ginger. Thanks Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Have made these a few times now and they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious! I'm a big fan of Trader Joe's triple gingersnaps and these had the same bite and flavor, but were much softer and airier. Like another reviewer, I rolled the 1" balls in raw sugar before baking. I also had to leave out the molasses and fresh ginger, but the cookies suffered no loss of flavor. They were a big hit at my Christmas cookie party and I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I've made these a few Christmases in a row and they're amazing. However to the people who suggested forming it into a log, chilling, then slicing into rounds, I say DON'T DO IT. I tried that this afternoon and it was a disaster; spreads way too thinly in the oven so in the end the whole flat little pancake is overdone. Just stick to the program, form into balls, and roll in sanding sugar. Also, the addition of a 1/2 teaspoon of fresh pepper and the same of cardamom makes it extra tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful...only change i would make would be to make them a bit bigger but what a great ginger taste...not at all hard to make! also the crystallized ginger is available in bulk at Winco and other grocery stores...much cheaper that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisakreipe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Sooo good! Made these for my husband and I think he died and went to heaven. We like them spicy so I added a couple more teaspoons of ginger and grated an oz of fresh ginger into the dough. I also added several teaspoons of ground cloves. I under-baked them a little bit, but they're so good and chewy that way it was fine. Id recommend cooking them for 20 min if you make the dough balls more than an inch in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
If the cookie turns out half as good as the dough (it's chilling now), I will be a very happy camper. I'm having a hard time not nibbling on it. I had to use shortening rather than butter (I was out of butter), baking powder over baking soda (again, out), and increased the salt (to make up for the baking soda). Increased powdered ginger and chopped up a little extra crystallized ginger, and ginger syrup (I had used all my fresh ginger to make the syrup). Anyway, I know the recipe as written tastes wonderful, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Really yummy and cakey. Kids even loved them. Something different if you've got eaters that don't like nuts or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just made these today. I made the dough yesterday. I added more fresh ginger, used 1 cup of butter and 1.5 tsp. of baking soda (someone had previously suggested this for more chewy cookies)and rolled them in raw sugar before baking and they are perfect. I don't really like baking cookies, too fiddly for me, but these were well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great recipe. However, you have to be familiar with how strong crystallized ginger is. It's kind of like eating the strongest cinnamon candy. Surprisingly spicy. If you like crystallized ginger, you'll love this cookie. I made a change to the recipe. I refrigerated the dough and then formed it into a 2 inch thick log which I then cut into half inch slices. They baked up perfectly. Much easier than forming round balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States