Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Best ever! My husband was complaining about having too many chocolate selections in our upcoming xmas trays. So, this sounded good. Boy was I correct. My son has a peanut allergy, so finding crystalized ginger was tough. But I found the BEST ginger from The Ginger People. Super tasty, best I have ever had. These do take planning ahead to have your ginger supplies ready and to wait for baking. Well worth the effort. My husband is eating all the extras I have right now! My daughter is trying to keep up with him! I will make these many times again. The only thing I did in addition to what the recipe states is that I rolled the tops in sugar before baking. Made them a little fancier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Other people LOVED this, but it's not the recipe I'm looking for. They were chewy and kind of flat, and maybe just the *tiniest* bit greasy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very refreshing and wonderful! I had been concerned about too much ginger, so I cut the dry ginger back to 1 tsp. The fresh ginger root I sliced and chopped in my Zyliss hand chopper and it worked great and got it so fine there is no chance of getting a bite of only ginger. I put the crystalized ginger in the food processor and chopped finely, almost made a mash. They are soo good! They taste like the real stuff! Will certainly make again and add the other tsp. of dry ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is sooooo Good! They are very chewy and almost melt in your mouth. The only tip I have is: Buy your crystized ginger in the oriental section at the grocery store. You can buy it for about $8 in with the spices or in a box for $3 and 2 times as much in the oriental section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Fantastic! If you haven't tried them yet, imagine a soft, chewy, gingersnap bursting with flavor, which leaves you with a warm glow that lingers - that what this is like. My family & friends love this recipe. Hint - make a double batch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
It came out too oily and soft. Next time, I'll try to bake for 15-20 minutes, and/or put in less butter, or add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Wow, these are amazing. I used Soy Garden instead of butter (lactose intolerant) and that worked fine. Also used candied ginger instead of crystalized ginger. You can get it at Trader Joe's for about 1/4 the cost of the crystalized and it's just as good. And instead of mincing the fresh ginger, I just grated it, which saved a lot of time. The only problem I have with these is trying not to eat the entire batch in one sitting. Too yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I've been making these exactly as the recipe is written for five or six years now. If you aren't a ginger fan, look for a different recipe because these are for those who are looking for a cookie with a bite. I read another reviewer's comment that she didn't like them because of getting bites of the crystallized ginger; that's exactly why I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Outstanding. I made them for a bake sale- two months ago- and I've had to make three additional batches... due to _begging_. They have been described as "addictive".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This is my families new favorite cooky. Everyone who has tried it loves it and wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States