Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been searching for a good triple ginger cookie recipe since my husband likes Trader Joe's triple ginger snaps. Decided to try this one. He gave me the highest compliment - said he liked these even better than the Trader Joe cookies! These cookies are also now one of my favorites. The dough was firm enough to use a cookie scoop and drop onto cookie sheet (lined with Silpat) without having to refrigerate it first. This recipe does require a lot of prep work (mincing fresh ginger and chopping crystallized ginger), but the end result is well worth the effort, especially if you love ginger. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RikkiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this without the crystalized ginger and it still came out really tasty. I didn't have enough ground ginger so I used more fresh ginger instead. My mom doesn't really like ginger but she ate these right up. I would definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mercedes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are fabulous. For those of you who don't like biting into a hunk of ginger...the recipe does call for MINCED ginger. I take my chef tony super duper chopper and it takes it to fine little pieces. You want them to be no bigger than a peppercorn, tops. Even my two year old loves them. Someone recommened little jars of the chrystallized ginger...that can get spendy. You can also find it in the bulk bins at most stores or nutrition centers. Half a cup of ginger pieces ( you must chop them up yourself )will run you about a dollar. I make these all the time, and they will taste just fine if you double the ground ginger and omit the fresh, if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I used just two tablespoons of chopped crystal ginger and the ginger powder and the results were great. I think the fresh ginger would have been too strong. I also tried shortening the 2nd time and it yielded a chewier cookie than using butter. Dip in coarse or regular sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Wowza! I'm never making any other ginger cookie again and it definitely tops any spice cookie I've made in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe, maybe not for the timid palate but a favorite for ours. The soft texture and complex, stimulating flavor of this cookie really set it apart from the ginger snaps I've made before. I rolled mine in sugar before baking and I'm pleased with the sparkling effect that resulted. The pliant form makes for an excellent ice cream sandwich, too. Write this one in your cookbook, you'll be coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Tom Crisp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Best ever! My husband was complaining about having too many chocolate selections in our upcoming xmas trays. So, this sounded good. Boy was I correct. My son has a peanut allergy, so finding crystalized ginger was tough. But I found the BEST ginger from The Ginger People. Super tasty, best I have ever had. These do take planning ahead to have your ginger supplies ready and to wait for baking. Well worth the effort. My husband is eating all the extras I have right now! My daughter is trying to keep up with him! I will make these many times again. The only thing I did in addition to what the recipe states is that I rolled the tops in sugar before baking. Made them a little fancier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Other people LOVED this, but it's not the recipe I'm looking for. They were chewy and kind of flat, and maybe just the *tiniest* bit greasy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very refreshing and wonderful! I had been concerned about too much ginger, so I cut the dry ginger back to 1 tsp. The fresh ginger root I sliced and chopped in my Zyliss hand chopper and it worked great and got it so fine there is no chance of getting a bite of only ginger. I put the crystalized ginger in the food processor and chopped finely, almost made a mash. They are soo good! They taste like the real stuff! Will certainly make again and add the other tsp. of dry ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States