Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent. I added the traditional spices; cinnamon and cloves. I used my onion chopper to chop the crystallized ginger; it worked great. The bake time is not nearly long enough; I tried 20 minutes with two trays in the oven. I like my cookies crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
these are now my all time favorite cookies. I used to buy the Trader Joe's triple ginger, now I can make my own! I would not change anything on the recipe. Thank you Laria, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
These are very good cookies, but I don't think they're quite as good as Trader Joe's addictive Triple Ginger Snaps. It is definitely easier if you buy minced crystallized ginger - the Ginger People sell a terrific one. Tasty, just not out-of-the-ballpark great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are worth every moment it takes to make them! They are wonderful! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I found this recipe when looking for a homemade version of Trader Joe's Triple Ginger cookies. Loved it. Now I've been diagnosed with gluten intolerance and can't eat wheat or butter. This recipe translated beautifully to GFCF (gluten-free, casein-free), though. I just subbed a bit of Earth Balance margarine (dairy-free) and shortening for the butter. I used a blend of brown rice, garbanzo, and tapioca flours for the flour, with 1/2 t of xanthan. They came out PERFECTLY - no one would know they're not "normal". They are a bit spicy, but that's the point - I would recommend dicing the candied ginger VERY finely though. I also like to add cinnamon and lemon/orange zest - they add a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I first ran across these cookies and made them for special occasions. I was away from my cookbooks recently, however, and wanted to make them for my mother who suffers terribly from arthritis (ginger is one of the wonder spices and particularly good for arthritis). They were as good as we remembered them being and, with a chopper, are not that difficult to make. Don't, however, use one the hand-grinder ginger bottles for powdered ginger! That was the killer. Thanks to the contributr and All Cooks -- I depend on you heavily when I'm visiting my parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I've made these twice now and we love the flavor and "bite" of these cookies. I used the fresh minced ginger in the jar and crystallized ginger bits (both from The Ginger People), which I further chopped a bit, so they really weren't any more work than any other cookie. However, I had a problem with them turning out so flat. I've experimented with baking time, oven temperature, refrigerating or not, and adding 1/4 cup extra flour - all without any real improvement. I can't quite figure it out but I will continue trying as they are extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i totally agree! a complete pain in the butt to make, but so totally worth it! my family loves them! thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
If you are looking for a ginger cookie with alot of ginger this is your recipe. I followed the directions to a tee and they were spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These could have been the best cookies I've ever made! They were easy to make and came out perfect mine baked for 12 minutes. If you like ginger cookies, you will LOVE these. I did not get to baking until 2 days after I made the dough and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States