Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious cookies! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out soft, sweet, and full of ginger flavor. They taste exactly like the Gingeroos that Trader Joes sells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Finally found this recipe after losing it for so long! I made this with butter flavored Crisco(remember to add the 1 1/2 tbls of water to the 3/4 c. of Crisco or the cookies won't come out correctly). They tasted as if they were from an expensive bakery, and I finally had my favorite cookie again! Thanks Laria! As for the complaints about the crystallized ginger, I saw that 1/2 cup was way too much for what amounts to a quart of cookie dough so even without reading a review I reduced it by half. Additionally, if you don't like too much ginger then a recipe titled "Triple the Ginger" isn't going to be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Careful about the distance on the cookie sheet and careful about baking time and temperature! Do you use an oven thermometer? I find it indispensable and I just don't know how some people manage without one! These cookies are rich and tasty, even too sugary for my taste, so I made them smaller. I used hot air to bake them for 10 minutes at 165C. Initially, I tried to bake at the suggested 175C and as I was keeping an eye on them I saw that at around 7 minutes they had started to burn around the edges...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Not happy at all! The cookies did not spread out. Instead they turned out like little puffed up mounds. Flavor is not bad but maybe it's just not my thing. If they were crispier I could maybe eat it with some tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We liked these. I had to cut the fresh and crystalized ginger to suit our tastes, but that wasn't a problem. Will use again. Oh, and I got 40 cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Best ginger cookies ever! As others have said your fresh and crystallized gingers must be finely minced or a big chunk of either will overwhelm your palate.I prefer them rolled in sugar before baking ( as others have suggested) The sugar adds a slight crunchy texture and puts out a little of the "fire" of the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great Ginger Cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabry
Home Town: Kandy, Central, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this cookies!!! I live in Switzerland and I really missed Trader Joe's triple Ginger cookies. Found this recipe online and it is really yummy and my husband liked it too. =) I also add a little bit of Vanilla. It's really good. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leipzigvet
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made this recipe for the first time and the cookies are really delicious. They just got a little thin compared to the ones on the other pictures here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I didn't find these hard to make. I used a food processor to mince the crystallized ginger so that part only took me 30 seconds. I also followed others advice & froze the fresh ginger so that went fast too. I LOVE the crystallized ginger bits in these cookies! That's why I found this recipe...to mimic the trader joe version. I know some people don't like them, but to each his own! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States