Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow! YUM-O! I made these to take to work for a returning co-worker on sick leave. Husband doesn't like ginger, so this was a good excuse to try them. I played a little fast and loose with the amounts of fresh, candied and powdered ginger, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. I guess the "pain in the butt" is having to keep rinsing my hands in cold water to keep the dough from getting too soft, and I kept the dough in the fridge between batches. I got way more than 18 cookies, which is a Good Thing. I'll have to make a little sign telling people they REALLY need to like ginger to enjoy these fabulous cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have made ginger cookies before and this takes the ribbon. They are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. I sprinkled sugar on top before baking but other than that they are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These are great! Using suggestions from other reviews, I added 5 "shakes" each of ground clove, cinnamon and allspice. Out of ground ginger, so mine were double ginger by instead increasing the crystallized and fresh gingers. Out of regular BS, replaced with 1/2 cup Splenda-brown sugar blend. And I topped each cookie with slivered almonds. Changes made to this recipe were personal preference and a somewhat limited pantry until shopping day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Amazing! Didn't have crystalized ginger and didnt miss it! Increased ground ginger and fresh ginger root as other cooks reccomended. Also, heeded advice of adding additional spices: 1/4 teaspoon each ground black pepper, cinnamon, cloves, and allspice. Used electric coffee bean grinder to grind all whole spices, and even the ginger root. For eye appeal and added moisture, mixed in 1 cup raisons that were dredged in self-rising flour right before baking. Doubled the recipe easily and yielded 12 dozen ( I like smaller cookies, dropped from teaspoon at 12 to cookie sheet). Last but not least, I used self-rising flour since I am lazy!! Absolutely fabulous cookie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
For a family of ginger lovers, these are the cookies of the gods!!! I did not chill them before baking, too impatient, and they turned out perfect, just like the picture. Used a microplane to grate the fresh ginger, didn't even peel it, quick and easy. Needless to say, these will be made again and again. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are incredibly good! In addition, they freeze really well (at least for 2 weeks - then we finished them). This is my new favourite cookie and I'm usually a chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious cookies! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out soft, sweet, and full of ginger flavor. They taste exactly like the Gingeroos that Trader Joes sells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Finally found this recipe after losing it for so long! I made this with butter flavored Crisco(remember to add the 1 1/2 tbls of water to the 3/4 c. of Crisco or the cookies won't come out correctly). They tasted as if they were from an expensive bakery, and I finally had my favorite cookie again! Thanks Laria! As for the complaints about the crystallized ginger, I saw that 1/2 cup was way too much for what amounts to a quart of cookie dough so even without reading a review I reduced it by half. Additionally, if you don't like too much ginger then a recipe titled "Triple the Ginger" isn't going to be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Careful about the distance on the cookie sheet and careful about baking time and temperature! Do you use an oven thermometer? I find it indispensable and I just don't know how some people manage without one! These cookies are rich and tasty, even too sugary for my taste, so I made them smaller. I used hot air to bake them for 10 minutes at 165C. Initially, I tried to bake at the suggested 175C and as I was keeping an eye on them I saw that at around 7 minutes they had started to burn around the edges...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Not happy at all! The cookies did not spread out. Instead they turned out like little puffed up mounds. Flavor is not bad but maybe it's just not my thing. If they were crispier I could maybe eat it with some tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States