Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are fantastic! I made them exactly as written except for my high altitude adjustments (1/4 tsp less baking soda, 3 tbsp of acidic liquid such as buttermilk or mayonnaise). Don't let the reviews that these are too gingery sway you. If anything, I was looking forward to the "spicy pieces of ginger" and didn't taste them as much as I would have liked. I might add more crystallized ginger next time or cut the pieces larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Best ginger cookies I've tried. Tasty, beautiful and easy to make! Elegant and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These have a pretty good ginger kick and they are quite good. My only problem is, that both times that I made them, the batter spread and produced a very thin cookie. They had a crispy edge and a chewy center. Everyone loved them. I got about 5 dozen from a single recipe. I used a 1" cookie scoop, which really sped up getting the dough onto the cookie sheets. The first time I made them, they stuck to the cookie sheet. The second time, I used parchment paper - sticking problem resolved. I tried this recipe because I'm trying to reproduce a ginger cookie I had in Bermuda. The picture looks just like them and the ingredients are almost the same, so I thought I had found my recipe. But the Bermuda cookies were thicker and slightly chewy. Others, who've made this recipe, have described these cookies as exactly that, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. The only difference in ingredients was the Bermuda cookies said vegetable oil and sugar, not brown sugar. Maybe I'll try that next time or use butter flavored crisco as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made these cookies exactly to the recipe and they are delicious. Not sure what the reviewer below me is talking about, because they really don't have any "bite" and are quite sweet. Perhaps some varieties of crystallized ginger are stronger than others?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I was really disappointed in the flavor and texture of this recipe. I followed just as written, but these had very little ginger flavor, which was an absolute surprise to me. The texture was nothing like a typical gingersnap either. The cookies were very soft. I'll stick to my 'tnt' ginger cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow! YUM-O! I made these to take to work for a returning co-worker on sick leave. Husband doesn't like ginger, so this was a good excuse to try them. I played a little fast and loose with the amounts of fresh, candied and powdered ginger, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. I guess the "pain in the butt" is having to keep rinsing my hands in cold water to keep the dough from getting too soft, and I kept the dough in the fridge between batches. I got way more than 18 cookies, which is a Good Thing. I'll have to make a little sign telling people they REALLY need to like ginger to enjoy these fabulous cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have made ginger cookies before and this takes the ribbon. They are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. I sprinkled sugar on top before baking but other than that they are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These are great! Using suggestions from other reviews, I added 5 "shakes" each of ground clove, cinnamon and allspice. Out of ground ginger, so mine were double ginger by instead increasing the crystallized and fresh gingers. Out of regular BS, replaced with 1/2 cup Splenda-brown sugar blend. And I topped each cookie with slivered almonds. Changes made to this recipe were personal preference and a somewhat limited pantry until shopping day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Amazing! Didn't have crystalized ginger and didnt miss it! Increased ground ginger and fresh ginger root as other cooks reccomended. Also, heeded advice of adding additional spices: 1/4 teaspoon each ground black pepper, cinnamon, cloves, and allspice. Used electric coffee bean grinder to grind all whole spices, and even the ginger root. For eye appeal and added moisture, mixed in 1 cup raisons that were dredged in self-rising flour right before baking. Doubled the recipe easily and yielded 12 dozen ( I like smaller cookies, dropped from teaspoon at 12 to cookie sheet). Last but not least, I used self-rising flour since I am lazy!! Absolutely fabulous cookie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
For a family of ginger lovers, these are the cookies of the gods!!! I did not chill them before baking, too impatient, and they turned out perfect, just like the picture. Used a microplane to grate the fresh ginger, didn't even peel it, quick and easy. Needless to say, these will be made again and again. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States