Triple the Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These were pretty good, but I was expecting better from the reviews. I followed the recipe exactly but my cookies came out rather flat and, for some reason, much too salty! Texture was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
These cookies are outstanding! Everywhere I've brought them, people have raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good cookies. My first pan did not cook very evenly. The second pan came out perfect. Next time I will let the pan containing the balls of dough come closer to room temperature before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I did not have enough of the candied ginger, but otherwise thought these were good. Be careful when adding fresh ginger, the little stringy pieces can be quite unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These are fabulous- I got tons of compliments on them. The only change I made was to roll the dough in granulated sugar before baking for extra sweetness and sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is a great ginger cookie, we all loved them. We're making our second batch tonight... Hopefully we'll have some left over for the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Canadiancook
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Added glace ginger, candied ginger, ground ginger and.... the zest of a lemon... oh my gosh are these ever good... not if you don't like ginger though... or shouldn't that go without saying?? They are super easy to make and I've rolled them into logs in wax paper and am leaving them in fridge for baking on demand. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe twice in the last week. Wow! These cookies are good! Thank you, Laria. I did modify the recipe the second time I made them. In the first batch I used butter and followed the recipe almost exactly. I used an entire jar of McCormick's crystallized ginger (about 2+ oz) ground in a food processor. Clearly that was much less than the 1/2 cup called for in the recipe, but at over $8/jar, who can afford that for a batch of cookies? I did not compensate with any extra fresh or powdered ginger but they still tasted very good. They did, however, come out flat and soft and those that survived my family for a few days got softer and stuck together as time went on. For the second batch, I used Crisco butter-flavored shortening,and doubled the amount of fresh ginger and powdered ginger. When I tasted the uncooked batter I was worried that I had produced an inedible ginger kick-in-the-head but those cookies were incredible. The batter was much easier to work with--not sticky, it was easy to shape in uniform round balls that produced perfectly shaped round raised cookies with a cracked surface. Once baked, the cookies were crispy but not hard and intensely gingery without a bite. I am writing this, my first review, to save myself from eating the rest of the cookies. Fortunately, I gave most of the batch away yesterday for a "ghosting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
As long as you have a food chopper, this recipe is quite easy! A 2-inch piece of fresh ginger will yield the amount needed in this recipe - although of course, adding more doesn't hurt! The dough is really sticky - I recommend rolling the dough into logs with saran wrap and freezing it, then slicing it into rounds. I found the ginger flavors had more time to meld and intensify after storing the dough in the freezer. This is a wonderful ginger cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
You will never find anything close to these in the store! The best ginger flavor ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States