Triple Decker Grilled Shrimp BLT with Avocado and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathycgd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Had the parents over for dinner last week and made these sandwiches. Could not find chipotle pepper so added a little bit of a roasted green chili instead...was nervous about how spicy this would be so did not really add enough, but the lime juice helped to give the mayo a little zing. I grilled the shrimp on skewers and brushed with EVOO and Santa Maria seasoning...Yumm just by themselves. Had fresh tomatos from the garden...yumm again. Put everything together, as described in the recipe (had to remember the bacon, as its not included in the assembly instructions...lol) Used the skewers from the grilled shrimp as large toothpicks to hold the sandwiches together. Served this with grilled corn on the cob. The sandwich was well loved by all, even my sick husband came out of the bedroom and wanted the other half of my sandwich...lol. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I didnt make my sandwich triple decker, just a single. It was just perfect! I only changed 2 things. I did not have avocado in the house so I used the mayo on 1 slice of bread and plain cream cheese on the other. It didn´t have the cooling effect that creamy avocado has, but it was still tasty. I also added 2 chopped chipotle peppers in while the shrimp cooked in a skillet. My mouth was on fire after I devoured the sandwich but it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
so many healthier options for substitutions for this. i'm opting for a chipotle guacamole with fat free sour cream instead of mayo, turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, and NOT making this a double decker! waist lines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
is there a piece of cheesecake to go with this??? Love this sandwich at the cheesecake factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Wow -nice twist on a classic BLT! If you love grilled shrimp, love BLT's and have a taste for things with a bit of kick then this sandwich is for you. I had leftover grilled shrimp (Best BBQ Shrimp Ever from this site) so I thought I'd give this a try. This was so good - from the spicy mayo to the smoky bacon coupled with the grilled shimp to the creamy, cool avocado and the crisp fresh veggies. This definitely isn't your "run of the mill" BLT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My grocery store didn't have any chipotles so I had to make do with that new Kraft Chipotle mayo. Sandwich was very good, it's a BLT with shrimp added. Super-messy to eat and keep together in sandwich form but everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Loved these sandwiches. Made them myself with two chipotles and Wasabi-Mayo to start with. SPICY! Danged good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Yum! Don't be like me and not read the recipe carefully... I dumped the whole can of chipotle peppers into the mayo when it should have been only one individual pepper (I've never used this ingredient before)! My mouth was on fire, lol. I did scrape off most of it from the sandwich because of this unfortunately. The tiny bit I left on really gave that sandwich great flavour! I did not season the shrimp or use olive oil; just cleaned and peeled them then fried in the bacon grease. Also used regular, toasted bread to make the sandwiches. For a complete meal, add a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by aquariuscook
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Everything you would ever want, smoky, spicy, creamy, tangy salty. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariuscook

Cooking Level: Professional



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp BLT

What's cooking on Long Island? Anne's triple-decker grilled shrimp BLTs.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States