Triple Chocolate Tofu Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Delicious! These are the best brownies I've ever made. I used the 365 every day value dark chocolate chunks (I got them at Whole Foods) and used Ghirardelli for the bittersweet squares. I also used the whole package of tofu as others have mentioned. I think next time I'll try using coconut oil rather than olive and stevia rather than white sugar. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Good recipe to use as a base. I made this recipe because we didn't have any bananas to make smoothies with our silken tofu, and my mom challenged me to make tofu taste like chocolate. Instead of olive oil, I used canola oil and canned pumpkin. Since we are not vegans, I included one egg with the tofu, etc. When I had everything mixed up, I thought the consistency was a bit stiff, so I added a bit of vanilla yogurt. The result was moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pieterperuccio
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I love this recipe because it doesn't make me feel so guilty about eating brownies. I mean c'mon, they have tofu AND whole wheat flour. I added chopped almonds to mine and used coconut oil instead of olive. BTW, olive oil should not be used in sweets or in much baking because 1. The taste and 2. It can't hold the temperature for most baking and gives off a toxic when it hits its smoking point. Coconut oil on the other hand gave these brownies an awesome smell and it has a fairly high smoking point. Also I double boiled the chocolate and the oil together, and then added them to the sugar and tofu. So, I say this is a good starter recipe with some minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
One of the best brownies I've tasted, vegan or not.I i added extra chocolate, to make it smoother. It goes great with so delicious mint chip ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is really good for a tofu brownie. Nothing beats a full fat, rich chocolate brownie but if you are looking for something on the healthier side, then this is really good. It's chocolately and moist. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil because I feel olive oil has a strong flavor that I wouldn't want in my brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe in an attempt to find a tasty, healthier way to get my chocolate fix. I am not vegan or vegetarian. My opinion is that this recipe is far too much work to make it worth it for a non-vegan, and the family agreed after they saw the sink fill with dishes to make them. It should be noted that after trying a few tofu recipes, I've concluded that tofu's just not for me. On the plus side, it has plenty of chocolate to make up for tofu's notoriously bland flavor, just lacking something I can't put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is my first tofu recipe ever and these brownies are delicious!! And they have to be good for you...whole wheat flour, olive oil, tofu, dark chocolate. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I used coconut oil instead of olive oil and stevia instead of sugar. One word AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsyh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great recipe with some adjustments... Used 1 package of Tofu and added extra amount of chips. Moist and tasty. Freezes well. Rave reviews from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States