Triple Berry Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Cranberries were out of season and i didn't have any stocked up, so I used canned cranberry sauce instead. I couldn't bear to throw out all that delicious pulp so I made cranberry/raspberry tarts out of it. Both came out very nice! EDIT: I combined this recipe with Chef John's "How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream" on here to make a triple berry ice cream and it came out AMAZING! My boyfriend can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
So good! I made this for an office of 14 and people were eating it up! This recipe is a little messy to make and real cherry juice - for some reason - is pretty hard to find, but it was definitely worth the hassle. There's a reason why 16 people love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made one switch out--I used Truvia in place of the sugar (Using Google and quick math, I came up with 42 packets). I used RW Knudsen Tart Cherry Juice in this recipe and fresh lime juice. This was a little work but totally worth it in the end. I do not have an ice cream maker, I actually froze this in a freezer friendly container. After it firmed up, I ran it through the blender again and re-froze. Even without an ice cream maker, this turned out fantastic. It was a little sweet with the Truvia--what I'd do next time is cut back just a touch. Still we enjoyed it, eating it all in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Intense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit for Thanksgiving. It was sweet and a bit tart, which was the perfect after dinner/after dessert refresher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyjenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This sorbet is extra yummy and delicious! I followed the recipe as written and it turned out wonderfully! I made the sorbet for a ladies luncheon and everyone loved it. I was worried because one reviewer wrote that it was too sweet, but for us it was a perfect blend of sweet and sour. The flavor profile is somewhat complicated, and I really like that. The recipe makes a good amount; it just fit into my small ice cream maker. The machine churned for about 45-50 minutes. The recipe is a bit involved, but well worth it for a special occasion. FYI- I squeezed 4 small limes (slightly warmed in the microwave) to get the 1/2 cup of lime juice. Also, I ate the pulp~ I just couldn't let it go to waste. I bet this sorbet would be a delicious summer drink with a little tequila poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules
Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
A little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe is incredible! I am just sorry I made it for someone else. It's the perfect blend of sweet and tart. Like another reviewer, I had to sub fresh strawberries instead of cranberries because I couldn't find either fresh or frozen cranberries. I strained the pulp as directed but kept a little bit of it in the mixture because I do like having some fruit remnants in a sorbet. I used fresh limes for the juice. I made this for a friend who had her wisdom teeth removed and I hated to give this away, I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was a great recipe. I used fresh strawberries instead of cranberries as I wanted the sorbet a little sweeter. I also used blue agave nectar instead of white sugar (I use that in all my ice cream recipes). I recommend straining though as there are a lot of seeds. My friends at the bbq raved and the kids couldn't get enough "ice cream"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This stuff is awesome! Tart, slightly sweet, and a huge burst of flavor in every bite. It does have a lot of different ingredients that can be hard to find depending on the season. Luckily, I adore cranberries so I always buy some every year when they are on sale and plop them in my freezer. The cherry juice, while I only had two options, was actually relatively easy to find in my grocer's juice aisle. The only issue I had was in straining out the pulp--I couldn't get it to work, so I just pureed everything in my food processor and mixed it all together. I'm sure that's my malfunction, though. If you like tart flavors like cranberry, lemon, or lime (which I do, very much!), you'll probably love this. Very easy too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Lemon Berry Tartlets

These impressive little lemon-curd tarts are surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States