Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
i've made lots of mixed-fruit crisps over the years, and tried this recipe because of the new and interesting way to layer the fruit between crisp on the bottom and crisp sprinkled on top. a great idea, and it really mixed the flavors throughout. a couple of changes i made to the recipe, however --- i used a combo of fresh peaches and blueberries because that's what i had on hand. i did not add sugar to the fruit as it says to do in step 2; seemed unnecessary and it worked fine without. also - 1 1/2 cups of butter?!?! insane - i used half of that amount and it still was buttery and crumbly. i'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
768 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is now my family's favorite dessert. Sometimes I cut the recipe in half and use a bag of frozen triple berry mix from the grocery store and a 8 x 8 pan. I have not altered the recipe and it is wonderful each time. Also, I have only used the frozen grocery store mix and it turns out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
614 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Hint: melt the butter in a dish while the oven is preheating. Once you have all the dry ingredients mixed together and are ready to go, then mix in the melted butter. Makes it much easier to mix everything, and it comes out more consistently. I would add at least five cups of fruit, because there is a lot of topping. I used frozen fruit; I just let it sit on the counter for half an hour, and it was still kind of frozen when I put it in the over. A little bit wet (due to it being frozen fruit I think), but absolutely delicious and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I have made this several times this summer. Always changing one thing or another. I have made it with all berries,some with peaches.Recently made it with just peaches and it was great.I usually use only 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar. Fruit is natually sweet, and I try to cut the fat down as much as possible and still have a good taste, anything less than 1 cup of butter doesn't seem to taste as good. This is a very good recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Just took this out of the oven. Very good. I used 3 bags of frozen berries; strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and raspberries. I just thawed, rinsed and drained them in the collander and then used Splenda instead of sugar. I also cut back on some of the brown sugar. I added a bag of pecan pieces to the crumble mixture. Before placing in the oven I added a mixture of cinnamon and Splenda over the top of the crumble and baked. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
What happens when you die? Is there life after death? Is there a God? Will I be rewarded for the good that I've done during my life? The answers to all these questions will be made known to you once you make this Triple Berry Crisp. It surpasses the feeling you get when a sudden cool breeze rushes past you during a four-day heat wave. It will make financial account managers take their shoes off and throw them in a dumpster. Quite simply, if everyone in the world had but one bite of this Triple Berry Crisp on the same day at exactly the same time, everyone on Earth would suddenly, magically, find they spoke the same language. All barriers would collapse. Wars would cease. And perhaps best of all, Hallmark Cards would instantly go out of business because we'd no longer need to rely on someone else to help us express our love for each other. I kid you not. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
very easy to make and very yummy! use 2 cups of each fruit that your using and only 1 cup of butter, that would be my only suggestions! My husband LOVED it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I was thrilled with the way this recipe turned out. Most crisp recipes just call for a crumb top, but this one was outstanding with a crust bottom. Everyone loved it. My daughter-in-law said it tasted like oatmeal cookies with fruit. I used 3 pints of frozen blueberries, thawed. Can't wait to make it again. Will try other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I absolutely loved the crisp topping for this dessert. I will definitely make it agaIn. sooo easy! I had no fresh fruit around so I used a frozen bag of Rhubard/Strawberry mix - thawed it out and went with it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was excellent! Used one bag of (thawed) mixed blueberries, blackberries and raspberries instead of fresh and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States