Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Dangerous recipe! It is great if you have a dinner party. Throw it together quick before you serve your food, and put it in the oven while you eat dinner, then its ready! I keep frozen fruit in my freezer so I can make this on the fly. I only use frozen fruit and there is no need to measure fruit. Just fill the bottom of your dish with fruit. I would not recommend melting butter. I tried this twice and it's a horrible mess, plus it doesn't spread evenly. It just gets concentrated in one area. Keep your butter at room temp, or a little cold. Also, 2 cups of white sugar is alot with the fruit (and it's natural sugars). Just sprinkle a little sugar on top of the frozen fruit. Some reviewers mentioned putting the oat mix on the bottom, and then layering the fruit. This doesn't work well because it doesn't crisp, and turns mushy. This is delicious...enjoy! But you have been warned...it's a slippery slope once you start to make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this recipe according to the directions, and it was very, very good. Some things I noted this time around and would change or make sure to do next time: 1) grease the pan and 2) use about 5 cups of THAWED berries, if using frozen. I didn't grease the pan, and the bottom layer was next to impossible to get out of the pan. I used almost a whole bag of frozen triple berry mix from Costco and discovered that 5 cups of frozen berries does not equal 5 cups of thawed berries. I ended up having to thaw more berries. No big deal, but I'm just pointing it out just in case someone else needs that information. Everyone loved this one, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is a good starting off point. I eliminated the nutmeg because I don't like it. I used 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb compote and 1 1/2 cups of blackberries because that's what I had on hand, so a total of 3 cups of fruit instead of 4 1/2. I reduced the crumb mixture to 2/3 because of the reduced fruit. But even with the reduction there was just way too much crumble. I used what seemed like a reasonable amount, probably about 1/2 an inch of each layer which I guess was a little less than half the original recipe. And it was amazing! I put the left over crumb mixture in the fridge and I will be making personal sized crumbles with the left overs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this after picking fresh berries this summer. It was so good. Kids and Hubby loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good, but very sweet. I think next time I will cut back on some of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe. May add some preserves to the next batch. But I think the recipe has a mistake. I think it's supposed to have 1 1/2 sticks of butter, not 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is our family FAVORITE!!! It's been a double+ batcher ever since the first time I made it (probably back in 2012). I do use about half of the nutmeg that's listed to please our tastebuds. As far as the fruit, a bag of Sam's Club frozen (then thawed) mixed fruit works great...plus it's available year round. I add a little corn starch to keep it from getting too runny. LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnyaz4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
FANTASTIC!! My 9 year old made this tonight for our Thanksgiving tomorrow. Best Crisp I ever tasted, she even beat my own! She used )frozen) Blueberries, and Raspberries from our yard, and a can of blackberry pie filling. SUPERB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
so so good. all the best part of pie and crumble and fruit in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States