Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have made this a couple of times with different berry combos and it's ok. I think we might like it better if I cut back a little on the oats. We usually like oats but for some reason this just seemed to have a little bit too much. I did cut down the amount of butter the second time so that is probably why they were a tad dry. It did taste good enough that its worth making the effort to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItsReesi3
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I'm not sure what went wrong. It looked so beautiful when I took it out the oven. I followed the recipe but the berries produced so much juice while baking that when I put some in a bowl it was almost a chunky soup texture. It tasted good but it looked just like oatmeal with berries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicklet5
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
FANTASTIC recipe for berry crisp. I would highly recommend making this in the late summertime when all of these berries are in season and at the peak of ripeness. Served up with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream, this recipe is a favorite of both my fiance and I. We're seriously considering making this for our wedding next summer in lieu of a wedding cake. We're calling it a 'marital crumble' haha Only adjustment I sometimes make is adding the juice from half a lemon to the fruit - adds an extra tang and somehow just makes the fruit flavours blend together even better. I would also agree with the tip about melting the butter before blending it into the other ingredients, makes it a lot easier to mix it all together. Just add a little bit at a time! Thanks poster! We have made this a bunch of times now and it comes out wonderfully each time we make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This makes a lot of oatmeal crumb mixture. I like a little less than it calls for, but this is absolutely fabulous! My family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Have made this recipe many times and everyone loves it. I also used fresh peaches instead of the berries and it comes out just as wonderful. Very easy to make and best if still warm. The only thing I do different is that I do not make the bottom crust and just put all the crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Hello, I followed recipe but instead of rolled oats I used 1 cup organic pumpkin seed granola but any granola would do plus I use a porridge mix which is oats, oat bran, what bran and flax seed. I used 1/2 the room temp butter and then used mixed berry unsweetened applesauce and regular applesauce and turned that into dry ingredients. Crust is sweet and soft but still chewy. Before I started mixing my berries I took three apples that were getting a bit soft, sliced and cut them up, drizzled maple syrup over apples and sprinkled some cinnamon over top and baked apple pieces in 350 degrees oven, in same corningware that I would later bake the entire fruit in, for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I am an organic gluten free baker. I made this last night and all of my guests (myself included) LOVED this crisp. I simply substituted the flour for the Nameste organic GF flour and the organic frozen berries that I buy at Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great recipe, very heavy on the butter. As recommended by an earlier review, I will try 1c of butter next time I make it. I was surprised it wasn't too sweet, considered adding some lemon juice, but taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was DELICIOUS! My husband's favorite dessert is blackberry crisp so I only used fresh blackberries. Don't skimp on the butter!! Yum!!! I will make this recipe every time I need a blackberry crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Love it! It's my go-too, basic crisp recipe. I decided to switch it up for Fall and made it into a "CARAMEL APPLE CRISP". Using 5 cups of sliced apples instead of berries, I drizzled about 1/3 cup of Mrs. Richardson's Butterscotch Caramel topping over the top of the apple layer before adding the top crisp layer. I baked it at 350 for a full 50 minutes (testing the apples until they softened). Add a dollop of ice cream while still warm and VOILA! This is a 5 Star family fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States