Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was good, but way too sweet. The berry part was good and still retained some tartness, but the crisp bit was way too sweet. Next time I would use only 1/3 (or maybe less) brown sugar. Might try this again but wouldn't break any land speed records to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a wondeful recipe! Also easy to make gluten free I just used a gf flour blend and wheat free oats and we had a wonderful gf dessert that everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wonderful! I used maybe an extra cup of fruit and it still came out great. The thing that makes this, to me, is that it has such a great texture. It's not like many crisps that get soggy when made. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
That was dang good! Better than pie! Used fresh picked blackberries for first time. Will be using other fruits and be making this again! Used approx 6-7 cups of berries and increased sugar and spices by half. Cut butter down to one cup...will try as originally written next time, to compare. Did as another user suggested and melted butter in pan. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is the best crisp recipe in the entire world. Totally exquisite. I followed the recipe exactly OTHER than using HALF the topping mixture. All the other reviews are absolutely correct, for some reason the topping to filling ratio is screwed up in this recipe. And I am a topping phene. So either use twice the berries or half the topping. I used a square 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13, since it just looked like it would be such a thin layer of berries on the 9x13. I skipped the bottom crisp because it just seems unnecessary And how on earth will it "crisp" up if it's underneath? I'm sure it's good either way. I let the berries (handpicked blackberries) juice up with the two tablespoons of sugar while I made my topping. You bet I poured every last drop of that delicious syrupy goodness into the pan with the berries. I put a nice thick layer of topping on, so much that I couldn't see the berries at all, about a one-inch layer. There was still about half the topping left, so I just froze it for an easy crisp at some point in the future. I baked it for exactly 40 minutes. OH MY GOD!!! I have seriously never had more delicious crisp in my entire life. DO NOT reduce the butter! It is what makes this recipe so unbelievable. The butter (which I cut in cold, by the way), melts down into the berries, transforming them into some kind of heavenly substance. So don't change the recipe itself, just use more berries or less topping and you will have yourself a fabulous crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is extremely sweet, gooey and unpleasant to eat. I believe it needs only about half the brown sugar and butter. It also needs a good pinch of salt if using unsalted butter. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Excellent! I have to say, however, that it goes against my grain to use this much butter and sugar. So, I substituted ½ c. olive oil for 1 of the cubes of butter. And, I didn't use the white sugar on the berries. And, I used fresh peaches + frozen triple berry mix (Costco). And, it was fantastic. Also, instead of the usual ice cream, I used full-fat Greek honey yogurt on top when serving it. I am definitely going to make my version of this wonderful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlinnyNinny
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was soooo amazing! I let it cook a little longer to he titmice and crispy and I used strawberries instead of blackberries, and I added a little berry jam to the berry mix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States