Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Being Trinidadian myself I can give a bit more imput into this recipe. We make this hugely popular dish very often and it can be done with variations. I have never heard of using coconut milk in stewed chicken that's usually in curries, You can omit the coconut milk for a very lowfat dish and use chicken broth instead. We usually blend (in blender or food processor)our seasonings such as cilantro, green onions, lots of garlic, a little water or vinegar to moisten and preserve spanish thyme and of course hot peppers TO TASTE if you can take it. We marinate like some of the comments said longer, overnight is good. We brown just like the recipe said but even even longer than two minutes don't be afraid to really brown as long as you stir it and it does not burn, however I personally use about two tablespoons of sugar or you can also use a few drops of browning such as Benjamin's which comes in a bottle (it is caramelized sugar) or Gravy Master. As you brown adding a little ketchup and soy sauce then add water(or broth), chopped onions, and diced potatoes which thicken, then simmer for 1/2 hour to forty mins and then add a little cornstarch mixed with water toward the end to thicken. It will have a different flavor from original recipe if you omit the coconut milk. As a variation we also stew beef and pork cubes the same way, just cook longer, very delicious. ( a shot of rum in the marinating meat is great and if you like ginger a little bit of it grated is good too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
740 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
With Trini roots, I found this recipe to be very much like what I am use to cooking. The only difference is that I mix the green onion, cilantro, garlic, onion, salt, and pepper....along with fresh thyme in a food processor with about 1T olive oil till it becomes a paste. Then, I rub it into the chicken and marinate it overnight. I also use the rest of the coconut milk mixed w/water to make herbed dumplings (not the kind w/baking powder....I like mine chewy and dense for this dish). Serve w/rice or with doubles (trini delicacy). Mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This is extremely good. I used boneless chicken, breasts & thighs and it came out great. I added a bit more red pepper, and more garlic. This is now on my kids (teens) most requested list. I've found that soaking/marinating the meat much longer than 30 minutes is best. I've never yet used a full bone-in chicken, which I suppose has a lot more flavor than boneless, skinless, thighs and breasts. Therefore, doctoring even further is good. Also, the sauce tends to be thin because everyone adds the whole can of broth and the whole can of coconut milk. If you do that, you need to double the initial step with the brown sugar mixture at the beginning. Make sure to serve with an overabundance of jasmine rice cooked with chicken broth and spiked with cilantro, and green onion and red pepper to taste. All of the optional steps shouldn't be optional. They make the dish. Don't skip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
All the ingredients incorporated really well together making this a very flavorful dish. I made a couple of changes; omitted the garlic, replaced the cilantro with parsley and added some lime zest and lime juice to the chicken marinate. The lime juice adds some tanginess to the dish. We served it with coconut rice which is a very nice compliment. We loved it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is not really a traditional trini stew chicken. it looks too pale. tradition stew chicken is normally a deeper brown and that is because the sugar is allowed to brown and not just melt as instructed by this recipe. then the butter is absolutely unnecessary. with the vegetable oil and cocnut milk you are just adding too much fat without adding flavour. To cut colries and fat even more the vegetable oil can even be eliminated just put the sugar to brown in the pot and then throw in the chicken, then add the cocnut milk etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
OMG, was this ever good! I only needed 4 servings, so halved the amount of chicken (used skinless thighs), but made the full amount of sauce. It was great over rice. I had a little trouble with the brown sugar and oil initially. The burner must have been too hot, so the brown sugar turned hard as a rock almost instantly. I redid it at low heat and it worked fine. I'm sending this recipe to everyone I know. It is a new favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
We loved this dish! I used chicken breasts, cut into large cubes, used cilantro in a tube, added onion powder & eliminated the green onion & squeezed the juice from a lime over the chicken to marinade. To the sauce, I added baby carrots, used half coconut milk & half chicken broth for the water & I completely forgot the ketchup & butter. LOL I served this w/ jasmine rice cooked in chicken broth & coconut milk w/ mango slices alongside. I garnished w/ chopped parsley & a chive blossom bloom. I loved the pretty colors! The green from the parsley, orange from the carrots, yellow from the mango & purple from the chive blossom was just beautiful! Thanks for a great recipe MASONBROWNE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I would give this recipe 10 stars. Rarely do I find a recipe that I will make again and again. OMG this is good! I too omitted the water and added a whole can of coconut milk. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I loved this recipe. Wonderful flavor. I used a whole can of coconut milk - tasted amazing. I have made recipe several times and leeks can be used as well as green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This chicken is awesome. I used boneless chicken thighs and followed the recipe except I used the whole can of coconut milk instead of half coconut milk and half water. I dont like cilantro or green onions but I decided to give it a try. I think next time I will leave it out but it was awesome. I did notice however that when I was melting the brown sugar and oil, I put the cold marinated chicken in the pot and the brown sugar hardened so next time I would not put cold chicken right into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States