Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Much better than I expected. Was afraid that it would turn out too sweet because of the sugar. Was pleasantly surprised to find that the end result wasn't sweet at all. It was a stewed chicken with just enough of a difference to notice it. Great alternative to your usual chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very easy, and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was delicious! It actually reminded me more of an Asian dish than a Trini dish, but I'm not Asian or Trini, so who knows. I used Jasmine Rice with it, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and did not have time to marinate the chicken, but this was still delicious and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
great recipe! a couple suggestions: 1) I could not get my brown syrup/oil mixture to turn syrupy, so after a few frustrating tries, i added a bit (about 2 TBS of hot water and it worked beautifully. 2) I added olive oil to the garlic/onion/cilantro marinade so it was a bit wetter when marinating. 3) the coconut milk and red pepper flakes are not optional! they make the dish amazing! 4) serve with rice. It is a wonderful complement to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My husband made this fr dinner. It was delicious. The taste had a tad bit of sweet, but not too much. It reminded me of sweet and sour chicken, but only slightly. It was very good and we'll have it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I did not have green onions, cilantro, minced garlic or coconut milk. I followed everything else, came out great. I never cook, but, thanks to this site, i am starting to learn. Will get the ingredients for next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was a very delicious dish! I followed the recipe exactly. The caramelizing the brown sugar was tricky for me, but that's because I'm relatively new to cooking. This is really fun to make and I am definitely going to do it again! I can impress my parents with this one when I come home from college. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was fantastic!! Every bit of chicken and the sauce was gobbled up! I did have a bit more chopped onion (like half of a small one) but otherwise had everything the same. One more thing should be added to the instructions though, when the chicken is ready, uncover the pot, put the heat up to high and let the sauce reduce and thicken for a few minutes. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Soooo good! The whole family cleaned their plates and this is a rare happening in our house. I doubled the sauce (spices, chicken broth instead of water, coconut milk, ketchup, garlic, onions) and it came out moist and just delicious. The sauce is great over rice also. Thanks so much. Next time I might add hot sauce because I love spicy but this is a good recipe as is, even without a lot of heat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States