Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This dish is amazing!!! The only thing we did differently is added a little water to the brown sugar and oil in the pot, without it the sugar was not melting. Otherwise, very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really loved this dish. Just finished making it for dinner. I took the advice of MYRTS78 and put the seasonings in a blender and marinating it overnight. The meat was very tender and had lots of flavor. I wanted it spicier but b/c I had other members eating it that cannot eat too much spicy food, I had to limit the amount of red pepper flakes. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was not a big hit. I gave it 3 stars instead of two b/c I did add more coconut milk than called for, so maybe that was a big part of the problem. It definitely tasted better than it smelled, but it was just ok. Oh, and when I added the chicken to the brown sugar syrup the syrup crystallized instantly. It did liquify once the everything got hot again. This was my first try at Caribbean food and maybe it's not for everyone. So for anyone who has never had this type of food, you should really try a very small batch before you make a whole chicken that may not be to your liking. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Haven't tried this but a fried of mine called me and said this is the recipe she was using. Being Trinidadian I told her that although she could add the coconut milk it's not a norm. I also told her that when she's browning the sugar she needs to wait for all of the sugar to begin "frothing" in the oil and for it to not get too black. It's a fine line between being horribly sweet or bitterly burnt. Apparently the meal was a hit with her guests but she said that next time she'd add more pepper (told her to try adding half a scotch bonnet to the marinade) and would skip the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This had great flavor but it was overwhelmed by sweetness. The brown sugar and the coconut milk blew out all the other great flavors in the marinade. Next time I'll either cut way down on the sugar or just cut out the coconut milk altogether. Still it was pretty good served over yellow jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Reminds me of the thai tum yum soup. Will definently be making again. I did use chicken breast and the whole can of coconut milk. Good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I live therefore I cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Much better than I expected. Was afraid that it would turn out too sweet because of the sugar. Was pleasantly surprised to find that the end result wasn't sweet at all. It was a stewed chicken with just enough of a difference to notice it. Great alternative to your usual chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very easy, and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was delicious! It actually reminded me more of an Asian dish than a Trini dish, but I'm not Asian or Trini, so who knows. I used Jasmine Rice with it, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and did not have time to marinate the chicken, but this was still delicious and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
great recipe! a couple suggestions: 1) I could not get my brown syrup/oil mixture to turn syrupy, so after a few frustrating tries, i added a bit (about 2 TBS of hot water and it worked beautifully. 2) I added olive oil to the garlic/onion/cilantro marinade so it was a bit wetter when marinating. 3) the coconut milk and red pepper flakes are not optional! they make the dish amazing! 4) serve with rice. It is a wonderful complement to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States