Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My husband was leery at first, we've tried recipes that were/are very simliar and have not hadd good results. However this wonderful! Not only did he clean his plate, he went back for seconds. The only difference I did was to use parsley instead of cilantro (neither of us can stand cilantro) and diced regular sweet onions and a little bit of a scallion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family and I loved this dish. I used boneless skinless chicken thighes as that is what I had on hand. Per our own preferences I added more garlic to the rub/marinade and let it sit overnight. I added all coconut milk instead of any water (why waste the extra) and added about 1/2-3/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes (again per my families tastes). The chicken was tender and very flavorful. I will defititely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Surprisingly delicious!! I really loved the eclectic blend of ingredients which I, myself, did not have the cooking acumen to assemble. Yay Trinadad!! I enjoyed with boneless breasts which shortened the cooking time. I took liberties with all ingredients, operating on the more is more principle. My husband, typically quite picky, enjoyed almost as much as I. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made it the way the recipe called for and it was not that great and that's why I gave it three stars HOWEVER I saw the potential and remade it with some changes. First when putting on your rub I would suggest not for 30 minutes but rather overbite. I also added fresh ginger to it. When melting brown sugar do it without the oil and brown the chicken in a separate frypan using olive oil and no. Vegetable oil. Use a full can of coconut milk. Recipe says optional but I think the coconut milk is crucial. Do not use ketchup. Instead tomato paste. Add the juice of one like before cooking chicken in the mixture AND use 1/2 stick of butter. Finally cook the chicken in a Dutch oven at 375. These changes make it perfect and FIVE stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe on this to a tee and it was quite tasty. One thing I couldn't figure out neither from the original recipe nor the other reviewers was whether or not to include the marinade in the finished dish. Some recipes say to discard the marinade and other recipes say to use it. This one didn't say so I included it and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Sooo good! I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
My husband said "interesting", and didn't ask for seconds. It was too sweet for us, and when cooking my brown sugar kept clumping up, it never really developed into a syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Used pork, followed most helpful review, added juice from 1/2 a lemon at end. Would make again once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Really good. However, I should have browned the chicken longer than 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States