Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Made this with my boyfriend the other day and we both loved it. I used a food processor to grind the ingredients for the marinade and then marinated the chicken for about 1.5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCELL81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
it is good, but the next time i will use the comments tip. i think will be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not only was this recipe unique, but it was delicious. I was not sure what to expect, but I followed the recipe exactly, and the outcome was fantastic. What a great use for cilantro. Excellent recipe--no need for any significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I was skeptical but it worked! For those who say your gravy was not thick enough, cut potatoes into small potatoes & add into the wok with rest of stew. As the potatoes boil, the gravy becomes thicker. I also added ginger. Mine was rather sweet so I added lots of salt as I'm pregnant & cant do spicy all the time. I added more ketchup, about 4 tablespoons & I skipped the coconut as I do not like the taste. Would recommend to anyone. Only marinaded for one and a half hours and it still tasted good! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is pretty easy to put together, and it's very tasty. It has a very unique flavor, and the way it cooks leaves it to almost have a BBQ glazed taste. The coconut milk is really great in this dish - I couldn't imagine leaving it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I double the sauce and add potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We make this recipe at 3-4 times per month. Everyone in our house LOVES it. I've prepared it using boneless skinless chicken breasts; chicken thighs (boneless once; bone-in another); and as written with the whole chicken (minus skin). It is good every time! It's even better the next day, if there is any leftover! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very good stewed chicken. I used cubed boneless skinless chicken breast which turned out really well. The only little problem was when I added the chicken, which was still cold, the brown sugar syrup quickly hardened. I think next time I'll try adding a little water first to thin out the brown sugar so it doesn't solidify from the cold chicken. Other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this for a Taste of the Tropics dinner party where each dish was from a different island. Since it was the first time I made it, I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I did different was follow the advice of the 2 Trinidadians that reviewed it and put the spices with some olive oil in the food processor and used it as a marinade. I marinated overnight and then cooked it, cooled it, then reheated right before we ate. By doing this, it picked up much more flavor and spice and was perfect. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
One of the best things i have ever made! I too substituted a whole can of coconut milk for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States