Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I dont know what this is but it is definitely not trinidadian stewed chicken, stewed chicken does not contain any coconut milk or the butter at the end. please follow myrts78 recommendation for authentic trinidad stewed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this made a delicious gravy. i used bone in thighs. the sauce was a little greasy so i might suggest removing the skin. i didnt use the optional coconut milk so i threw in some orange zest to make up for the lack of flavor. the cilantro did not come through for me as much as i expected so i added some freshly chopped as a garnish and i was pleased.the gravy was wonderful over the brazilian white rice from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Absolutely gorgeous! I didnt have cilantro at all so just used dried parsley. The rest of the recipe was followed exactly, my kids licked their bowls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipie is good, but although it has many of the right ingredients, the execution isn't like true Trinidad-style stewed chicken. The marinade is supposed to be blended into a paste or green seasoning made with culantro (not cilantro), green onions, and garlic which makes it more flavorful. It is also traditionally made with only dark meat that is bone in and cut into small pieces. The picture is a mis-representation, so maybe it should be renamed "Caribbean Stewed Chicken"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Keeps with what i know stewed chicken to be but I use molasses to brown the chicken gives it a nice smooth flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexter
Home Town: Marabella, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Tacarigua, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This chicken was absolutely amazing. I used chicken breasts and 2 tbs brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Made this with my boyfriend the other day and we both loved it. I used a food processor to grind the ingredients for the marinade and then marinated the chicken for about 1.5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCELL81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
it is good, but the next time i will use the comments tip. i think will be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not only was this recipe unique, but it was delicious. I was not sure what to expect, but I followed the recipe exactly, and the outcome was fantastic. What a great use for cilantro. Excellent recipe--no need for any significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I was skeptical but it worked! For those who say your gravy was not thick enough, cut potatoes into small potatoes & add into the wok with rest of stew. As the potatoes boil, the gravy becomes thicker. I also added ginger. Mine was rather sweet so I added lots of salt as I'm pregnant & cant do spicy all the time. I added more ketchup, about 4 tablespoons & I skipped the coconut as I do not like the taste. Would recommend to anyone. Only marinaded for one and a half hours and it still tasted good! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States