Trinidad Pelau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Well a lot of things are missing. The beef or chicken should be seasoned with fresh season like garlic, chive, celery, and pimento pepper. Seasoning salts can also be used. The meat had to be tender before adding the rice, peas and pumpkin. Coconut milk isn't necessary but would enhance the flavor. You can also use both beef and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
this rice is very sappy and not very appealing. You can dice carrots and a tomato for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is good. I found canned pigeon peas but I was afraid my little girls would decide not to eat any of it since they are one a "don't like beans" kick lately. So I skipped those but added peas. I adapted this to make it in my pressure cooker and it made the beef very tender. For each cup of brown rice, use 1 1/4 cup liquid. I added frozen peas at the very end and just stirred them in and let them cook while I poured drinks and got dishes ready. The slightly sweet taste and creamy mouth feel make a unique and delicious dinner. Thanks for sharing your heritage Triniredlocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
creamy and sweet. It makes a nice change from what i usually cook. i threw in some frozen veggies for colour tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Made this without the beef or the pigeon peas...served "Trinidad Stewed Chicken" from this site on top of it. Super good. My dinner guest asked "what did you put in the rice, it was so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I love pelau and make it often....we add ketchup after we sear the meat in the brown sugar and the pigeon peas are a must. you can find them in the "mexican" food aisle around the other beans. add season salt, bay leaf and wala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It's bland, and the rice takes longer than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Smith-Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I substituted the brown rice for 1 sweet potato and 1 regular potato. It was still very delicious, just needed a pinch of salt and pepper. Next time I will try the rice, but it was a very simple meal to make and it was enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicaInBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
My mother is a Trini, but she has been sick for years and doesn't cook anymore, but this Pelau is just like hers. Thank you for posting this recipe. She sometimes used to use salted pig tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
A meal that took my family by surprise, sweet, savory and unique. Very good! Be careful with the rice, some brown rice takes more liquid and a lot more time to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States