Trini Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My boyfriend, who is Trini, loved this recipe, but I too altered it. I eliminated the bok choy, then instead of letting the liquid dry out I sauteed some onions in the sauce. Once the onions were soft I tossed in some cooked rice. It was so good, my sweetie ate nothing else but this until it was gone, the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I am from Jamaica and this chicken was great i hope that every one tries this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
The only change I made is that I used boneless chicken because that is what I had in the freezer. I loved this recipe and I especially loved the bright orange the sazon season made it. The bok choy blended in perfectly in this sauce. This was so easy to make and the end result was very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Dee-licious! Like another reader said, I was worried about caramelized sugar, but wow did it so much depth to the flavor. I removed the chicken when half done and sauteed chopped white onion in the pan juices per another reader's suggestion. When the onion was soft, I deglazed with chicken broth, added more Sazon and spices. Added the chicken back in. When the sauce reduced, I coated the chicken pieces and added the bok choy. Served it all on a bed of rice. So tasty and so easy. Thanks for my new chicken and rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I love this chicken it was so easy to make i make it all the time. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My daughter and I loved it, it has perfect balance of sweetness and spicyness. I made with Bok Choy, I am assuming that's why it was little on the dry side. Recipe fails to mention stir after carmalizing sugar, I believe that's why some folks have burned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We absolutely LOVE this recipe-we found it after my daughter fell in love with bok choy at a local restaurant. I was a little shy of caramelizing the sugar at first but now that I've made it a couple of times I've found that it's a really great part of the dish. I have been using a little less cayenne pepper-the full amount is a little spicy for my kiddo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! A couple of things you should know: 1. It's HOT!!! I cut the cayenne significantly, and it still was very hot. I love hot food, but my wife and kids were crying with every bite. 2. My sazon is in a big jar. I have no idea how to measure .18 ounce of something. I went with about a tablespoon and that was good. 3. The recipe doesn't say how long the sugar step takes. I'd say it was between 10 and 15 minutes of stirring. 4. I didn't have bok choy. I used cut up summer squash and zucchini. It was great! 5. Saffron rice made a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
The seasong was spectacular. However, I was using chicken tenderloin, so cooking time would've varied. I was in a hurry and didn't think about that at the time and it upset everyone's asthma in the house when it began to burn. Eh, I learned my lesson. Not the recipes fault, so I rate this a five despite my mistake. I saved it and it still turned out great, my dad loved it. I will make again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States