Trini Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish was very good, unique and tasty flavours. I made it with ground chicken and also made my own sazon seasoning. I used pak choy not bok choy, as that's what I had on hand. I was initially anxious about caramelising the sugar, as I'd never done it before, but it was super easy. It adds a very different (and good) flavour to the chicken. Definitely make again, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We absolutely LOVE this recipe-we found it after my daughter fell in love with bok choy at a local restaurant. I was a little shy of caramelizing the sugar at first but now that I've made it a couple of times I've found that it's a really great part of the dish. I have been using a little less cayenne pepper-the full amount is a little spicy for my kiddo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I must have done something wrong because all I ended up with was a black pan and black bottomed chicken! The sugar burned and burned and burned and made a lot of smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I followed the recipe exactly. I'd thought I made enough to have left overs for lunch the next day. Unfortunately for me, my hushand REALLY liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was awesome. We used boneless skinless chicken breasts, which was fine, a little dry, but it was great. Made some jasmine rice with it cuz it's my fave. My boyfriend said it was too hot for him, next time we'll use less cayenne pepper. I think nuts or beans would be an awesome addition. He wants shredded carrots too. We'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dexnmav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elsie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I've made this recipe several times now. What an interesting method of cooking. My family enjoys this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
We loved it! Browning the chicken in the sugar first was a great idea and made the chicken delicious. I have since made this with and without coconut milk and also with pork. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
THis had a good flavor. I misunderstood the recipe and used boneless chicken breast instead of chicken parts with bones. The chicken was a little dry (probably overcooked). The next time I will try this recipe with chicken with the skin on it. However, I could still taste a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I love this chicken it was so easy to make i make it all the time. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My boyfriend, who is Trini, loved this recipe, but I too altered it. I eliminated the bok choy, then instead of letting the liquid dry out I sauteed some onions in the sauce. Once the onions were soft I tossed in some cooked rice. It was so good, my sweetie ate nothing else but this until it was gone, the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States