Trini Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My BF sent this recipe to make for dinner last night. He is Trini and absolutely loved it! It is great to be able to make meals that take him back to Trinidad. I would just add more bok choy stalks to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoveSerrano
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My variation to the recipe is instead if white sugar, I use brown sugar; and half the salt. I serve mine on yellow rice. It's a great dish! I've made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveSerrano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this recipe to the T. No changes whatsoever. Honestly, I was also really scared about putting the chicken into a dutch oven with carmelized sugar and no liquid whatsoever. Thankfully I was brave enough to try it and I am so glad I did! I lowered the heat from medium to medium low just to be safe and once I lifted the lid off after 25 minutes, I was surprised to see a bunch of liquid in there just bubbling away! (I used all thighs with bones and skin on btw). After removing the lid I just continued to follow the instructions and was just wowed by the end results. My husband also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is awesome, salty and spicy, and perfect over rice. I used 2 1/2 pounds of chicken thighs, because that's what i had on hand. I also added a 1/2 an onion for more flavor and veggies, and it tasted great. Love this recipe because its very cheap and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I did not have sazon, so I used some black pepper, adobo, and lawry's perfect blend seasoning and rub instead. Watch chicken carefully to keep it from burning in caramalized sugar. I left the skin on chicken pieces. Served it with quinoa and brown rice, and fresh pear. 12/12 megf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I don't know what happened but my chicken pieces didn't produce any liquid so they started to burn..I thought quick and put 1/2 cup of chicken broth in the pot and continued to cook as directed. It turned out delicious.. I also put in 2 tsp. of cayenne instead of the Tbs.. (it was still a little spicy for me but not my friend).. Maybe next time I will even add less cayenne.. Served with white rice.. Very unique taste! Everyone must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I loved the taste but I burned my chicken. Be sure to brown the sugar over medium heat, not high and stir as another reviewer has mentioned. Stir often, turn chicken etc to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was excellent. Spicy and flavorful. Would definitely make again, but this time with bone-in chicken as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Dee-licious! Like another reader said, I was worried about caramelized sugar, but wow did it so much depth to the flavor. I removed the chicken when half done and sauteed chopped white onion in the pan juices per another reader's suggestion. When the onion was soft, I deglazed with chicken broth, added more Sazon and spices. Added the chicken back in. When the sauce reduced, I coated the chicken pieces and added the bok choy. Served it all on a bed of rice. So tasty and so easy. Thanks for my new chicken and rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow this was delicious! Instead of bok choy I used rice & reduced the cayenne pepper (I don't like my food too spicy). I had no problems caramelizing the sugar & that added a nice flavor to the chicken. Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States