Trini Mango Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Looking at the reviews beforehand I suppose would have been wise, but you shouldn't have to consult reviews in a published recipe, in my opinion, to avert disaster. The crust, okay, so you can't go wrong if you buy one. I chose to make my own - just as easy, probably cheaper, and tastes better and fresher: 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 5 T. melted butter, 2 T. sugar - in a 9" springform pan. The cheesecake filling is standard - can't go wrong there either. But the topping... what a watery mess. Either reduce the nectar, probably by half, or increase the cornstarch, probably by double. If you don't you'll end up having to do what I did and have to struggle to fix this after the fact. Also, I don't undertstand the reason for tossing the boiling hot juice with the fresh mango - -unless you're trying to cook the mango (not). Once done, this is very good as well as pretty - four stars for sure. On its own, prepared as the recipe directs? - a store bought crust with a basic cheesecake filling topped with chopped mangoes suspended in juice. And, given what you'd end up with, three stars is generous, two stars is more accurate, but I don't want to discourage anyone from trying this recipe with some important modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Can I give this one another star? It really is an awesome and easy cheesecake. The mango topping is to die for and so easy to make! Don't be afraid to work with fresh mangoes even if you're not accustomed to them. The fresh ones really beat canned ones anyday. I usually buy desserts but saw this recipe and decided to try it. It was easy and got rave reviews from my family and friends. Now I have to make mango cheesecake at least once a month or I start hearing alot of complaining about how I never make mango cheesecake anymore! Thanks TNARINESINGH. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
It is a creamy cheesecake, i love that!! its very important to disolve the mango nectar & sugar and not overheating the ripe mango because if you over heat the mango would not look fresh. I would be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (it's so simple it would be hard to alter it) and I will definitely make it again. My only issue is there was too much syrup, so next time before adding the chopped mangoes I'll scoop out about 1/3 cup (easier than recalculating the nectar-sugar-cornstarch ratio). It took about 40 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This cheesecake was very creamy, light and delicious. I made the graham cracker crust in a springform pan. A standard crust recipe is too much for this cheesecake, so if you decide to make your own crust, use only about 3/4 of the crumbs and bring them up the pan sides only halfway. For the topping, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup -and drizzled it on top of each piece before serving. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great cheesecake recipe! My only mistake was letting the mango sauce sit for a while until the cheesecake chilled. It got watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
For a baked chessecake this one was very creamy. Everyone loved it! The mango sauce was good, but not fantastic - it was a bit too much like canned pie filling. I would make this again - but somehow try and improve the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akadianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I am a huge mango fan and this does the job. I has such a fresh flavor and is not overly sweet which is one of the reasons I like Mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guestroom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Amazing. I have to agree with one of the others, to much nectar. I'd make what it says, add it to my mangos, scoop them out with a slitted spoon, then drizzle the necter on the cheese cake. Will maek again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I only made the topping since I bought a pre-made cheesecake, but it tasted great and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States