Trini Mango Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Sauce is very running. Use strainer or ladle to put the mango on top. Save the extra in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Well my husband LOVED it! I just ate one slice - my husband ate the rest (it made me sick the first slice since I have a sensitive stomach). Just make the regular amount of syrup, but refrigerate or freeze about half of it. Only use the amount that looks appropriate for the cheesecake or it'll drown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made own crust with digestive biscuits. Cheesecake was perfectly baked after 30 mins. Pureed fresh mango to make nectar but tasted odd cos i added cornflour (not cornstarch as requested). Omitted the sauce and just topped it with diced fresh mango. Still delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Looking at the reviews beforehand I suppose would have been wise, but you shouldn't have to consult reviews in a published recipe, in my opinion, to avert disaster. The crust, okay, so you can't go wrong if you buy one. I chose to make my own - just as easy, probably cheaper, and tastes better and fresher: 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 5 T. melted butter, 2 T. sugar - in a 9" springform pan. The cheesecake filling is standard - can't go wrong there either. But the topping... what a watery mess. Either reduce the nectar, probably by half, or increase the cornstarch, probably by double. If you don't you'll end up having to do what I did and have to struggle to fix this after the fact. Also, I don't undertstand the reason for tossing the boiling hot juice with the fresh mango - -unless you're trying to cook the mango (not). Once done, this is very good as well as pretty - four stars for sure. On its own, prepared as the recipe directs? - a store bought crust with a basic cheesecake filling topped with chopped mangoes suspended in juice. And, given what you'd end up with, three stars is generous, two stars is more accurate, but I don't want to discourage anyone from trying this recipe with some important modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I would have to say i did not have luck with this recipe. i followed the recipe EXACTLY and it turned out super mushy in the center. Not even 25% of it was edible. The sauce was too sweet and the cornstarch forms balls! I had to spoon out the balls of cornstarch. I do not recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I am a huge mango fan and this does the job. I has such a fresh flavor and is not overly sweet which is one of the reasons I like Mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guestroom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was the best cheesecake with the perfect topping! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JannaJoJanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
SO DELICIOUS!!! My first time EVER making a cheesecake and it was really easy and well worth the wait ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Amazing. I have to agree with one of the others, to much nectar. I'd make what it says, add it to my mangos, scoop them out with a slitted spoon, then drizzle the necter on the cheese cake. Will maek again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Alie
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe, I added chopped macadamian nuts to the cheese mixture before baking & used digestive biscuits instead of graham crackers. We didnt have mango nectar so used canned mangoes for the sauce and fresh mangoes on the top. Dh ate the entire cake in 24 hours. Said he loved it. Taste better than the deli. Thank you Trini !!! Will be making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States