Tri-Tip Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very simple and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrp1207
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great rub! Next time I'll only use 1 tbsp for 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrp1207

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Half the salt & black pepper-used Kosher salt, added thyme, brown sugar, chili powder, cumin as suggested by other reviewers. Mortar the ingredients - just smashed them all together w/ spoon. Did not have parsley - would have added it if I had some. Baked it @ 425 degrees for 25 mins & grill for 5 mins in the toaster oven. Did not burn or char like I wanted. Tasty - still a bit on the salty side - might still need to cut down on the salt. Also next time reduce to 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I liked the flavor of this recipe - wish I had parsley because I can see how that would add more depth of flavor. I cut the salt in 1/2 but it was still too salty - next time, I will use much less. Overall it was great and family loved it - 3 of us ate almost the entire 2.15lb tri tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was so good! I, too, halved the salt and added 1 T chili powder and a little cumin. Surprisingly easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I am from Santa Maria, CA and this tri-tip rub was close, but slightly off in taste. For a truly authentic Santa Maria style bbq tri-tip use about 3-5 tablespoons of coarse ground garlic salt w/ parsley (such as Lawry's garlic salt) and about 1/2-1 tablespoon of coarse ground black pepper. standard table salt just doesn't bring out the natural flavor of the tri-tip the way lawry's does!! LISTEN TO KERRYLK'S REVIEW, ITS THE RIGHT WAY TO BBQ TRI-TIP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Added 1 Tbsp dried parsley and 1 Tbsp brown sugar Splenda. Next time would cut salt in half. Turned out great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yummy! We added some parsley and rosemary to the recipe. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This makes a super cut of beef even more wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Nice rub. I rubbed the Tri Tip and let it rest in the fridge for more than 24 hours - nice flavor. It maybe a bit different than true Santa Maria style BBQ rub - but this is very good. Thank You for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States