Tri-Level Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
These are so rich and yummy. The oatmeal cookie part really evens out the rich chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Really good and liked the oatmeal "cookie" bottom. A new twist on the traditional brownie. Perhaps I was doing something wrong with frosting, however. Was not able to "drizzle" it as the recipe suggests. In fact, it was so dry and crumbly I had to add milk, then just spread it on with a spatula. Still quite good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Great variation on the basic brownie. However I agree with the last reviewer that the glaze is not a true glaze as it's hard and crumbly. I added 1 tablespoon of milk at a time until I got a runnier consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
They were ok. The topping needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were pretty good. Again, the frosting is not frosting at all, but they are still good without it. I'd add some chocolate chips or something though, I need more in my chocolate fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Okay, I only made the bottom layer and put regular brownie mix on top, but the bottom layer itself was too bland for my taste. The butter flavor overpowered the oatmeal, and it tasted like, well, buttery oatmeal, instead of that nice caramel-y oatmeal cookie flavor I look for. I would add some cinnamon, or carmelize the brown sugar with the butter before mixing with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
When I think of brownies, I think soft choclate. These were not either. Not completly bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
There is one thing missing from the icing recipe and that is to add enough hot water (I boil some) to make a spreading consistency. My family love them and I take them everywhere I am asked to bring a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
What happened to the icing? It turned out a crumbly mess. I ended up adding more melted butter and part of a hershey's bar to thin it out. Even then, it was more of a chocolate spread. This was ok though, it satisfied my need for chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gradava2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It's not a "brownie" at all, but more of a good coffee square. It's a bit hard, dry and lacking in chocolisciousness to be a true brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States