Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Dealing with egg whites as icing: One reviewer said they don't use merengue for the frosting because of a distaste for raw eggs. I think a merengue frosting is necessary for this cake to be authentic--the merengue lightens the texture and is less sweet and rich than whipped cream (which is v. good also). So--the answer is to "cook" the merengue as in "Italian merengues." To do this, you just heat to liquify a sugar syrup, sugar & water. Then you slowly pour this boiling syrup into the eggs whites while you are whipping them. This cooks the whites, but they still look like white, fluffy clouds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
A way to avoid having too much liquid is to pour the milk mixture over the cake as soon as the cake comes out of the oven. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This recipe is great. I make it in a 9x13 dish. When I take it out of the oven .I take a knife and skim off the skin(light brown part),while it is hot. While it is still warm, pour your milk mixture over, no need to poke holes,put in fridge overnight. This cake gets better the longer it sits. I don't use merginue.Sometimes I use 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk and I cup of milk.I love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe makes a very nice tres leche cake. As a variation, try coconut milk as one of the three milks and then garnish the cake with seasonal fresh fruit and toasted coconut. However, what is really special about this recipe is the cake part. It is easy to make, avoids butter fat grams and can be used in a number of different desserts like trifle or all by itself. The ingredients are staples in most kitchens so it can be made spur of the moment. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
So delicious! I used a 9x13 pan and when I poured in the first batch of batter, it seemed too little. I doubled the recipe for the cake itself, and kept the "syrup" recipe the same. I would do this again, because the cake ended up just as tall as a regular boxed cake mix and there was not an excess of syrup. I will difinitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
WOW... didn't know this would turn out as great as it did. I put together a Cinco de Mayo dinner and it was a wonderful ending to a fabulous evening. This is what I did after reading some of the reviews: I added a few wholes in the cooled cake before pouring the '3 milk' filling onto it and I also browned my meringue. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I tried it straight out of the oven, after I poured the milks on it and really did not like it at all- but the next day after it sat in the fridge all night it tasted fantastic and my fiancee just loved it! It was kind of spongy and I wasn't sure if it was I beat the eggs too much or if it was suppose to be like that. I frosted it with whipping cream. I also noticed on another recipie that they added 1/3 cup milk and I wonder what that difference makes? If anyone know please post on the site or email me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
It's a winner. However, some family members found it a bit too sweet but most loved it. I had made it twice already. I think I would try it with less sugar, perhaps 1/2 cup vs. 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Skip the Meringue and top with strawberries, the more the better! This cake is very rich and the strawberry just makes it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
All the people who ate this cake gave it great reviews. Had a little too much syrup, next time I will pour maybe 1/2 cup less over the cake. I added toasted flaked coconut over the meringue. Kids will need help with the meringue. I loved it and will keep this recipe around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States