Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
I really liked the recipe. I felt the mirangue had too much sugar. The sugar didn't all disolve. I had this cake at a party and was happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
This cake tastes absolutely fantastic. It's not that hard to prepare for a grownup, but kids might have some problems with the meringue. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I like to brown the meringue frosting in the oven. I think it holds up better and lasts longer if the meringue is cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
A SIMPLE RECIPE THAT YIELDS OPTIMAL RESULTS. THIS CAKE IS THE STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
Amount of "syrup" seemed to be way too much. Was the milk mixture supposed to be reduced to make it thicker or is the amount incorrect? It had at least a cup too much liquid. Apart from that, it had wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
This is the best TASTING CAKE in my world! I agree with there being too much syrup left over, but remedied that by freezing the rest after I blending in a little merengue. Great ice cream leftovers! My merengue was too sugary-gritty. Also I think you need to poke holes in the cake to absorb the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
A way to avoid having too much liquid is to pour the milk mixture over the cake as soon as the cake comes out of the oven. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
This recipe blew! The cake was totally disgusting, it was neither moist, light nor fluffy. It tasted like congealed egg yolks. The syrup was runny and the cake just sucked it up. I am thoroughly disappointed. I will never make this cake again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
I have made the cake thrice in the last month for friends and most of them have just loved it!!! Most kids love it except mine...but then she is not fond of milk. I would certainly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
this cake was very disappointing. The vanilla and milky flavor was nice, but the cake was very dense, not fluffy, and the syrup was far too runny. It wasn't like a syrup at all. I took the advice from another reviewer and poured the syrup over the cake as soon as it was out of the oven. I also poked holes in the cake with a fork to better navigate the syrup into the cake. Even after the syrup disappeared into the cake, it collected at the bottom of the pan and ran everywhere when I sliced the cake to serve it to guests. The end result was a soggy mess with a gross texture. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States