Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This cake was awesome!!! We didn't do the meringue part since I don't like it however it didn't need it. All of the Venezuelan girls loved this and were surprised a white guy (my fiance) could make this as good as them!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I,too, doubled the batter recipe only because this is the second time I attempted it, and the first time the cake was too flat. It came out much better. I followed the instructions to the letter and added the milks mixture while the cake was still warm, plus poked some holes with a toothpick prior to doing so. You could see the milk being absorbed by the cake! My Hubby is from Honduras where they eat this cake frequently and he said it was delicious. Good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
The cake taste great but a bit too much milk - I should not have poured all of it on the cake. Yummy! Gina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This recipe was very easy and very good. According to my grandmother who I made it for. She says it was better than the 20$ cakes at the store. I was left over with about 1/4 cup of the milks because I thought it would be to soggy if I added all of it. Overall I thought this cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
WOW... didn't know this would turn out as great as it did. I put together a Cinco de Mayo dinner and it was a wonderful ending to a fabulous evening. This is what I did after reading some of the reviews: I added a few wholes in the cooled cake before pouring the '3 milk' filling onto it and I also browned my meringue. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
So delicious! I used a 9x13 pan and when I poured in the first batch of batter, it seemed too little. I doubled the recipe for the cake itself, and kept the "syrup" recipe the same. I would do this again, because the cake ended up just as tall as a regular boxed cake mix and there was not an excess of syrup. I will difinitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
It's a winner. However, some family members found it a bit too sweet but most loved it. I had made it twice already. I think I would try it with less sugar, perhaps 1/2 cup vs. 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This is the best cake I have ever made for this recipe. It held the milks without turning into a clump of mush. I will use this cake from now on to go with my own milk(s) and topping recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
The recipe was fine though it really doesn't need the frosting. Made the frosting as specified and it was too sweet for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
All the people who ate this cake gave it great reviews. Had a little too much syrup, next time I will pour maybe 1/2 cup less over the cake. I added toasted flaked coconut over the meringue. Kids will need help with the meringue. I loved it and will keep this recipe around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States