Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I was disappointed by the cake in this recipe. The liquid did not soak in evenly like in other recipes I have previously tried. I let it sit in the fridge for 24 hours and poked quite a few holes, and the liquid still seemed to collect in small pockets rather than throughout the whole cake. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Houdeshell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
One word: Incredible!! I substituted coconut milk for the evaporated milk, as suggested by someone else. I frosted it with Cool Whip and sprinkled toasted coconut over the top. Then I garnished with large strawberries cut in half. My guests loved it and were amazed when I told them how easy it was to make! This is a new favorite with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is a great Tres Leches recipe! The only tip I have is to make sure to use super fine sugar for the topping as regular granulated sugar makes the topping gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I took the advice of others: poured the milk mixture over the cake while it was hot. I also don't like raw eggs, so I made my own whipped cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This recipe is delicious and very authentic. It's a sweet, moist, and not too heavy cake (and great w/ strawberries) I used 1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla for the icing...I think raw egg is gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe makes a very nice tres leche cake. As a variation, try coconut milk as one of the three milks and then garnish the cake with seasonal fresh fruit and toasted coconut. However, what is really special about this recipe is the cake part. It is easy to make, avoids butter fat grams and can be used in a number of different desserts like trifle or all by itself. The ingredients are staples in most kitchens so it can be made spur of the moment. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I would save the milk topping for when you serve it. When it made more than the people available to eat it, the leftovers wasn't such a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is a great dessert. My husband loves it and always asks me to make it for him (he actually eats it all by himself). For those that think it's too sweet, well, that's the way it's supposed to be. Also, the first time I made it I screwed up the merengue by using regular sugar, after that I've been using powder sugar and it comes out perfect! Sometimes I make it in 2 pans using the same amount of ingredients, that way it's easier to handle, besides my hubby prefers it when it has a lot of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Ok so the first time i made this cake was for christmas last yr and now every time i come into town to visit my family THEY DEMAND i make it! 1st time i made it came out perfect! however after making it numerous times after i have realized that it IS a little bit too sweet, so this time around i think i will try cutting down on the condensed milk as i think this is the problem. i always skip the meringue i always thought it would ruin it, opt for store bought cool whip or you can make ur own (as i do) by whipping up some heavy cream and some sugar. add some frozen strawberrys and VOILA! Your friends and family WILL LOVE IT! of course beware, becuz you might get stuck making it often, for them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Switchblade
Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
IThis is the best!! I use to live in NYC and now live in Spain, and you don´t find tres leches here, so I decided to make this one. It was great my son, and Husband loved it. Wow I was surprised on how good it was being this my first time making it.Better than the bakery ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIAA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States