Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I've been doing this for family parties for years now and everyone loves it :-) i wouldn only change the topping and use 1 cup of heavy whipping cream mix with suger (to it taste) very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
very easy to make and simple. My family love it and I do too. I just move to Orlando and was looking for a good restaurant to have this cake but I didnt find any, so I look in this site and I prepare this one. Was amazing, love it love it love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I loved this cake but my Mexican friend said that the cake was too dense...perhaps I didn't mix the eggs long enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This cake took me three goes to get it right. I had to bake it at 190 degrees celcius for 40 minutes, then I took the advice of NOT allowing the cake to cool before pouring in the milk mix. It absorbed really well. Such a beautiful cake, I didn't frost mine, I think it would be too sweet if I did. DELICIOUS! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
The cake was great. It was a little too sweet though as others who previously rated it had said but other than that, it turned out nicely. I used heavy cream instead of milk. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. Next time, I will only use 3/4 of the combined milks to pour into the cake so that its not so runny at the bottom even after overnight refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Since I have never had a tres leches cake I shouldnt really be rating this. My husband didn't like it at all and his grandmother made it for him all the time. It tasted like a soggy egg cake to me, and I will never make it again. But since I don't know what its supposed to taste like anyway, I will rate it three stars, its probably delicious to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent, easy from start to finish and gets better over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Dealing with egg whites as icing: One reviewer said they don't use merengue for the frosting because of a distaste for raw eggs. I think a merengue frosting is necessary for this cake to be authentic--the merengue lightens the texture and is less sweet and rich than whipped cream (which is v. good also). So--the answer is to "cook" the merengue as in "Italian merengues." To do this, you just heat to liquify a sugar syrup, sugar & water. Then you slowly pour this boiling syrup into the eggs whites while you are whipping them. This cooks the whites, but they still look like white, fluffy clouds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I was disappointed by the cake in this recipe. The liquid did not soak in evenly like in other recipes I have previously tried. I let it sit in the fridge for 24 hours and poked quite a few holes, and the liquid still seemed to collect in small pockets rather than throughout the whole cake. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
One word: Incredible!! I substituted coconut milk for the evaporated milk, as suggested by someone else. I frosted it with Cool Whip and sprinkled toasted coconut over the top. Then I garnished with large strawberries cut in half. My guests loved it and were amazed when I told them how easy it was to make! This is a new favorite with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States