Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Super fluffy but a better topping would be a homemade whip cream which is super easy just heavy cream and sugar and mix till its a nice texture. Its nice and fluffy and goes well with the fluffy cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Meringue Frosting make cake taste extremely sweet; other than that cake + syrup taste great just try another frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
O M G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is not a good tres leches cake. The milks only soaked into the bottom half of the cake and didn't penetrate the entire cake as it should have. I knew better than to follow the directions regarding not poking holes in the cake. Had I poked holes I would have had better results. Also, the flavor of the cake is weak and not sweet and delicious. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Excellent. Loved the texture of the cake. It was perfect. The only change I made was to cook my meringue as suggested by the previous reviewer. I used boiling syrup but I could never get the meringue to thicken properly, so I ended up beating it over a double boiler until the consistency was right. Will go straight to the double boiler next time. Although the meringue did not hold up the fridge as well as I had hoped, I will definitely go through the trouble of cooking it again just o be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have tried several of the tres leches recipes here, and found the base of this the best. I used the stabilized whipped cream recipe instead of uncooked meringue. I served this last week to my gardener and his family ( all from Mexico) and they all agreed it was the best they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made this 3 times now. I tried different ways each time. This last time I substituted coconut milk used in Asian or Thai cooking for the whole milk and added two Tbsps of dark rum to the milks. I used whipped heavy cream with 1 and 1/2 Tbsp confectioner sugar and 1 tsp vanilla for the topping and I put toasted coconut and maraschino cherries on top of that. This was a huge hit at a party. The dish was completely empty when it was time to go home. Some people complained they didn't have a chance to try it as many people went back for seconds. I feel like quite a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prettysammy007
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could, but since I can't, I'll round up to 5. :) I'm glad I read the reviews saying it was too sweet. I made a batch and a half in one 9x13 pan. I cut down the sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/4 cup, and added about 3/4 of the syrup mixture to the cake after it got out of the oven. The meringue failed (my hand mixer broke, sad day), but it was still thick enough to use as a "frosting". I topped it with strawberries and blueberries, and let it sit overnight before taking it to work the next day. The reaction? People loved it. One guy I work with thought about spreading nasty rumors that it tasted bad. That way he could have more. It was almost all gone by the end of the day. If over half the dish you brought to "Food Day" is gone, then that's a good sign. All in all, easy recipe to follow and fun to make. The only beef I have with it is the high sugar content. This one is definitely going in the recipe box to make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Ok, this cake was absolutely perfect. It had just the right sweetness and taste. Definitely the best Tres Leches I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was very good. I made it for my birthday to switch it up and it worked. I made a whipped cream topping which was nice because it wasn't too sweet and balanced out the condensed milk. When adding the milk don't be afraid if it doesn't instantly absorb, it will. A light cream cheese topping would also be nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States