Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My family loved it. I added coconut to the batter, used apple sauce instead of oil, and cut down the water to 1 cup. Also used light cool whip instead of whipping the cream myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Everyone that tried it, loved it. Next time, we are going to add some rum to it. Loved the whipped topping, made it a lighter-tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A really moist, light, not over-whelmingly sweet but sweet enough to hit the spot. Really simple to make. Everyone one loved it and had at least two pieces, even people who claimed not to like coconuts could not resist seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for someone that wanted a tres leches cake for his birthday. I have only had Tres Leches once and didn't love it. I looked for alternatives and found this. It was a great hit and I am making it again. This time I am making two so I get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this for a coworker's birthday and everyone loved it!! I thought it was great, but I will definitely substitute rum for the water next time. Easy, light, and delicious! I also used quite a bit more than one tablespoon on top of the cake, probably more like 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Everyone that tried this cake, LOVED it (even people who claim to NOT like cake)! It is not too sweet and not too wet for my liking...just perfect. But, as other reviewers have done, I also used about 1/4 of a cup of toasted coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this cake! I am not a fan of traditional tres leche cake. It is just too wet. This cake is moist and light and delicious! I made it last week for my family. They loved it. I want to make it again but I'm having trouble finding cream of coconut! I wish I remember where I bought it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love making this recipe and always get great reviews over it. It's so easy to make and even the latino crowd likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Just made this for a party this weekend. I made it in a 9 in round pan, it turned out great, I added some vanilla to the icing and the extra some of the extra pineapple juice to both the cake batter and the icing. It was not too sweet, I especially like how the frosting turned out- nice and light. Most people had seconds and I was asked to make it again! This is a really easy recipe and seemed to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Cake mixes are not as large now. The one I bought, Duncan Heinz,the only one I could find without pudding, was 16.5 ounces, so we added 1.7 ounces of flour. I was worried about whether or not the pineapple should have been drained or not. I didn't drain it. I used more toasted coconut on top, probably about a cup. We also added a little rum to the whipping cream. The cake was a HUGE hit at the dinner party to which we took it. We'll probably cut down on the milk next time. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States