Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This was okay. Won't make again. I realize it's a Tres Leche cake but it's just too wet for us. Recommend using only half the amount of coconut cream on top. Extremely hard to find coconut cream these days so I wouldn't be likely to try this again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Didn't change a thing, getting ready to make it again. A friends favorite for his birthday. If you love moist, delicious and coconut this cake is sublime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Amazing! I thought this might be too soggy once I pored the coconut cream on but it wasn't. Also, instead of regular milk, I used coconut milk. I also whipped 2.5 cups of heavy cream with 1/2 cup sugar and it turned out to be a perfect ratio. RAVE REVIEWS a!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Hi, I am the submitter of this recipe. You do not need to drain the pineapple when you add it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Ok so I reviewed this a few months ago and I said I added some sweetened condensed milk to sweeten up the milk & coconut cream bcuz the coco cream was not sweet at all. Today I made the cake again and this time decided to use Goya brand coconut cream and it's sweet! So there's sweet coconut cream and unsweetened coconut cream...never knew that until today! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I can't really give this recipe a true review because I couldn't find coconut cream so I just skipped that step. I did everything else as per recipe with an addition of coconut & 3/4 cup flour (my cake mix was smaller than recommended) to the cake mixture. I made about 2.5 dozen cupcakes & they were sooo yummy. I'm going on a hunt for coconut cream and will revisit this recipe when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Cake mixes are not as large now. The one I bought, Duncan Heinz,the only one I could find without pudding, was 16.5 ounces, so we added 1.7 ounces of flour. I was worried about whether or not the pineapple should have been drained or not. I didn't drain it. I used more toasted coconut on top, probably about a cup. We also added a little rum to the whipping cream. The cake was a HUGE hit at the dinner party to which we took it. We'll probably cut down on the milk next time. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My family loved it. I added coconut to the batter, used apple sauce instead of oil, and cut down the water to 1 cup. Also used light cool whip instead of whipping the cream myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Just made this for a party this weekend. I made it in a 9 in round pan, it turned out great, I added some vanilla to the icing and the extra some of the extra pineapple juice to both the cake batter and the icing. It was not too sweet, I especially like how the frosting turned out- nice and light. Most people had seconds and I was asked to make it again! This is a really easy recipe and seemed to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love making this recipe and always get great reviews over it. It's so easy to make and even the latino crowd likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States