Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Marti, Your recipe is wonderful...yours was the second (out of four) recipe I tried and I'm not going any further...I am from Nicaragua, where this cake originated and your recipe came very, very close with the following exceptions: 1. Use 2 14-oz cans of condensed milk and 2. Use only 10 oz of evaporated milk (2 5-oz cans) Thank you for your recipe...great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This recipe is really good if you add sliced strawberries(fresh, or in syrup; I put the syrup in too) or try other fruit such as canned pineapple (crushed or tidbits). I have had it like this at many Mexican birthday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
I had the pleasure of first tasting tres leches in Miami, Florida at a Cuban restaurant. I was very happy with this recipe because it was as delicious as the tres leches in Miami. Thanks, patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
This is a delicious cake, very easy to prepare and the cake absorbs the milks like a sponge, unlike other recipes I've tried. This cake is a slight variation of the Nicaraguan recipe and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
Great stuff. Cake a little thin but the taste.... wouldn't miss it for the world! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
The recipe for tres leches was excellent,but using a straw was optional!!The colombian recipe didn't seem too soup like texture. either way it was dammed good, and I was happy I found the recipe as a matter of fact I'm eatting some now as we speak w/ less milk and more wine Thank you, 300Lb chunkie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This recipe is so good and I don't even like Tres Leches at restaurants. My husband has me make this recipe on his birthday every year! He's hooked. It's very easy and people are quite impressed, they can't believe you made this dessert. It's very fresh, which really makes it stand out from the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I made this the other evening and it was wonderful...I wouldn't change a thing. Two thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I have made this cake several times. The last time I made it, I decided to double the cake recipe, because I thought the cake was too thin. (Although, I have never recvd any complaints from my customers.) I was told that when I doubled the cake, there were areas where it was too dry and there was not enough of the liquid. There is no need to fix what is not broke!! The original recipe is a hit and the best tres leches recipe on the web. It is very easy and as one of my customers put it, "simply divine!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
THIS CAKE WAS GREAT. IT WAS THE SAME CAKE I HAVE PURCHASED SEVERAL TIME. I ALSO FOUND SEVERAL OTHER RECIPES FOR THIS CAKE ON THE INTERNET. THIS WAS THE BEST ONE, HOWEVER ONE ALL THE OTHER CAKES, AFTER POURING THE MILK MIXTURE OVER THE CAKE LET IT SET FOR AN HOUR AND THEN POUR THE REST OF THE LIQUID OFF. I DID THIS AND IT WAS THE BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States