Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
There was too much liquid indicated in the recipe for the cake to absorb. I decided to serve it in a pool of the liquid so that I could figure out what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
This is a delicious cake, very easy to prepare and the cake absorbs the milks like a sponge, unlike other recipes I've tried. This cake is a slight variation of the Nicaraguan recipe and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
There must be a misprint in this recipe. I agree with the other reviewer who said there is way too much liquid. I think one cup of milk instead of two. Also, my cake came out really flat -- perhaps it should be baked in a smaller pan. I ended up cutting mine up into cubes and storing it in a big bowl with all the liquid poured over and ate it as a bread pudding. Not attractive, but definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
this is the worst cake receipe I have ever made! it had way too much milk , a real tres leches is made with evaporated milk,condensed and half and half(a pint)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
Original, however I think it would come out better if that milk mixture was heated up so it thickened a bit before pouring it on the cake. All that liquid was too much and didn't really absorb. (I probably should have made the holes with the end of a wooden stick)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
I ate this all the time when I was a kid. If you are living in an area where you can't get to a Cuban bakery...this is the next best thing...unless you can call abuelita.{:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
I had the pleasure of first tasting tres leches in Miami, Florida at a Cuban restaurant. I was very happy with this recipe because it was as delicious as the tres leches in Miami. Thanks, patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
The recipe for tres leches was excellent,but using a straw was optional!!The colombian recipe didn't seem too soup like texture. either way it was dammed good, and I was happy I found the recipe as a matter of fact I'm eatting some now as we speak w/ less milk and more wine Thank you, 300Lb chunkie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
Great stuff. Cake a little thin but the taste.... wouldn't miss it for the world! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
Although tasty, the cake was very thin and there was far too much liquid. Also, the icing was extremely sweet. I would make this cake again in a smaller pan, the filling reduced to half the condensed and whole milks, use much less sugar in the whipping cream and let the cake absorb the liquid overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States