Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delightfully delicious and it tastes like it takes a lot more effort to make! I did lighten it up by using fat free milks where I could and I did use almond milk instead of whole milk but it didn't taste light in any way. The cake held up well to the liquids and didn't disintegrate like other recipes I have tried in the past. This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made for my husband who grew up in authentic Mexican food and he loved it. In fact, kids loved it too! Used about 3/4 of the milks so as not to be too soggy. The frosting/topping was perfect and will be my go to topping for all cakes moving forward. Fabulous and easy Tres Leches Cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious cake. Family was ranting and raving about how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this exactly as printed and didn't like it all. I found the cake to be very mealy and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The milk mixture is by itself veeerry sweet and the whipped cream was WAYYYYY too sweet for me. I think the recipe is good and the milk-to-cake ratio was perfect. However, next time, I'm going to halve the condensed milk and sugar in the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this cake multiple times just as the recipes days and everyone loves it!!! I will continue to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is idiot-proof. I mixed it using my bare hands only with a toddler crawling on my leg. The batter held up to me switching from 1/3 ratio and then just adding in another 1/3 when I realized I wanted more cake. The cake came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
this was wonderfully i have eatin these kind of cakes and this came out exactly like its suppose to taste. i made no changes and followed the recipe to the t and the cake was wonderful not crumby at all just wonderful . will make again my family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My husbands from Mexico and we visit a lot and this cake is amazing! The hubby loved it so its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I think most of these negative reviews must be from people who have never had a real tres leches cake before. I made the mistake of beating the egg whites like many reviewers suggested and my cake came out light and fluffy (not a tres leches cake). It is supposed to be very dense almost like a corn bread, not light and fluffy. If you follow the recipe you will get a great tres leches cake, not a typical light and fluffy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States