Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I tried making it and some how it didn't come out fluffy like a cake. It was more of a pancake. However, I'm going to try it again to see if it was just because it was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've made This cake a few times already and Im in the process of baking it again right now(it smells good??) besides it being very delicious it's simple to make! My whole family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Begian
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was wonderfully rich and decadent! Sweet, creamy vanilla yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Begian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe has flavor and is overall a keeper. However, in years of Tres Leche Baking the Eggs definetly need to be seperated. Yokes mixed well with sugar then add the softened butter until combined. Beat egg whites and fold into the yoke mixture. Add flour little by little. Pour into prepared pan. I also add a little powders sugar to the milk mixture and top with cocoa powder. Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and it is always a hit. I have 2 children from El Salvador and they beg me to make it. They say it is better than what you find in any Mexican restaurant. The only change I made (and I only do it occasionally) was to add some cinnamon to the cake mixture. It gives it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Unfortunately, this had a strong eggy taste that we didn't care for. This was the first Tres Leche cake that my family hasn't devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
AMAZING!!! made the recipe exactly as written and everyone loved this cake! i added some cocoa powder and banana slices to the top and voila fabulous! When the recipe states to stab with a fork then stab away... my cake had so many holes in it and it took about 5 mins for the milk to be absorbed... (i did lift the edges of the cake a bit to help) such a great recipe will make 100 times over and over! i did cut down on the toppings sugar to 1/3 a cup and it helped quite a bit.. some cakes are way to sweet but this one was spot on perfect! thanks so so so so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Tried this recipe according to directions and it turned out perfectly. It tasted identical to the Tres Leches I had in Nicaragua on my travels. I accidentally bought whole wheat flour and it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I just made this for my first time and I would say the recipe is unclear. I beat the whipping cream for a while then add sugar beat and the vanilla last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by __Amanda92
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took the easy way out, I used yellow cake mix for my cake and followed the rest of recipe as is. Came out delicious, recipe was easy to follow. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States