Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tasha Renee
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday today. It was absolutely delicious, but we found it to have too much milk in the bottom of the pan. Next time I might try a 1/4 cup less milk in the milk mixture. Still an absolute winner in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
It truly is a great Tres Leches but here are a few very important steps taught to me by a Honduran friends mom. IMPORTANT!! Take the cake out when done to cool, don't touch it, turn off the oven & set the timer for 5 mins. After 5 mins THEN poke the holes in the cake using the large end of a chopstick making larger holes then fork tines, pour the liquid on the top & RETURN to the off oven for 10 mins. The reasons. 1) the cake is still cooking when you take it out so poking holes at that time reseals them, hence no absorption. 2) the dwindling heat slowly forces the liquid into the cake. Also, I substitute a cup of coconut "cream" NOT coconut "milk", for whole milk. Proceed with the topping when cooled. You will be shocked how unbelievably moist but non soupy this turns out when done this way. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this but it really was too much liquid. Maybe this is how it is supposed to be but I felt like it was too much milk. There was so much that the cake was literally floating in it. Everything else was great and tastes amazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
So good and easy to follow! If you prefer desserts that don't spike your blood sugar levels, then cut the sugar in half for both the batter and whipped cream. Still equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Terrific recipe from a Texan who thoroughly enjoys a tres leeches cake when out at a restaurant. Made this for my nephew's birthday because it is his favorite kind of cake and everyone said this was the best they ever had. Followed the recipe EXACTLY - it was terrific and quite easy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was fairly easy to make.... And everyone at my potluck LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe! Congratulations Stephanie!! I've always LOVED "Tres Leches (Three Milks), but thought it was a very labor intensive dessert, so I would buy it from a Cuban Bakery near me. My love for this dessert made me look up this recipe a few days ago; and, I found yours and decided to give it a try. Today was the day!!!!!! I put on some soft instrumental christian music and followed your recipe, and I am so very pleased with the flavor, the texture, the ease of making it!!! WOW, I ACTUALLY CAN MAKE A TRES LECHE! Thank you so much for making it so very simple and delicious!! Can't wait to make it again as a SURPRISE for one of our church functions!!! God Bless You Stephanie for sharing this wonderful recipe with all of us!! Oh, by any chance, do you have a "Mango Flan" recipe that would "drop your socks off"? If you do, please let me know. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I jus love it! I only use 1 cup of sugar 1/2 for the batter and 1/2 for the topping and also added strawberries, peaches and kiwi on the top.....delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yovi
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My husband loves this cake and askes me for it all the time hes lucky I love baking. I use either 3/4 or 1/2 of the sugar for the cake part only because then it turns out way to sweet but its a great cake yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Have made this a couple of times now & is just like we remembered from Mexico. This time hubby made & put some blueberries on the top for decoration. Should let sit for a couple of days to "soak" up the milk, but we can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 928) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States