Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Horneé este receta por la primera vez y me gusta mucha. Especialmente las leches en el pastel, fueron muy deliciosas. Haceré este receta en la future, quizá por mi padres cunpleaños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was really yummy and it was a lot like the one I had at a local Cuban restaurant. Everyone liked it! I followed the recipe, except used half the sugar in the whipped cream. It was still very sweet with the half a cup and a cup would have been too sweet for me. When the cake was done baking it was harder than I thought it would be and I had a difficult time getting the milks to soak in. When I poured them on top they only stayed there a minute and then ended up on the bottom of my pan with the cake floating on top! I left it overnight but it still seemed like not much had soaked in so I tried to make my holes in the cake bigger and pushed the cake down so the milks came to the top. Luckily, by the time we ate it later in the day, a lot of it had soaked in (or leaked out of my container, but that's a whole other story. Be careful!). It was a pretty good consistency, though I might like it more if it sat another night and really soaked it all in. The flavor was great though! I will make it again. Next time I may take it out of the oven a little sooner than 30 min to see if it's not as hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I sprinkled shredded sweetened coconut on top. This cake was a hit! Next time I plan to add chopped strawberries. I may also add some flavoured rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe step by step, brought it to our 2014 Christmas party but the taste wasn't good. Honestly, the guests doesn't like the taste at all. Not a great Tres Leches recipe. Sorry... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday and if I were to rate if then it would have been 1 however 2 days later I give it a 3. Here is why: I followed the instruction to the dot and on day 1 the cake did not soak in any of the milk. The cake was floating in the 3 milk mixture... it was nerve wrecking as I was planning this for a x-mas party. I was highly disappointed. I kept this cake aside and made another one, using Ree Drumond (Pioneer woman) recipe, that saved my party. I left this cake in the fridge and sort of forgot but took it out two days later and all the milk was finally soaked in. It did taste good. My recommendation would be to take extra time doing step 3.... beat until you feel the mixture has enough air and fold in the all-purpose to the fluffy mixture. Minimize the flour (1/2 cup less) and try not to beat it into the egg/butter instead fold in. The cake should be airy for the milk to absorb. Anyway I think I'll follow Pioneer woman's next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashmi Jagadish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. The only thing that I changed was instead of pouring the milk over the cooled cake, I submerged the cool cakes in the milk. The cake turned out very moist but not to the point of falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Unfortunately I didn't realize the beater I had wasn't working so I had to forego the home made whipped topping, but store bought didn't detract from it at all! the recipe is wonderful; easy to make and tastes great! I got rave reviews. Tres Leches cake is the kind that's better after a day in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe the first time I wanted to make Tres Leches cake. The cake recipe is just OK for a regular cake. Its missing proper proportions for a moist/fluffy and softer regular cake. But the biggest mistake is - Tres Leches cake is a SPONGE cake soaked in three different kinds of milk, and this recipe is NOT a sponge cake. Two important things about a SPONGE cake is - No butter (fat), and Separate the eggs. The Egg whites are beaten to stiff peaks, and folded into the batter at the final stage before beating. I made the cake again with a Sponge cake recipe (check out Pioneer Woman recipe), and by God! That, my friends, was Tres Leches cake....seriously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sory Mariel Florentino
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
i made this for thanksginving and people loved it!! it was my first time baking and it was very easy and delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States