Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
The base recipe is excellent. We have always bought this cake from a mexican bakery for about $50 so it is great to find a recipe for a fraction of the cost. You have to know what to expect to enjoy this cake it is traditional to Hispanic culture. I cut the sugar and sweetened condensed milk in half and substituted unsweetned coconut milk. PERFECT! The coconut milk is a perfect addition giving the cake a slightly nutty flavor. The cake is definatley too sweet. I recommend adding sugar slowly to taste instead of the exact amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This was great and a big hit. It is very sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Absolutely fantastic, kids and adults alike will sop up this wonderful dessert faster than you can imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I agree with Charisse 100%. This is the worst Tres Leches I ever had. It's not spongy at all. It really looks like an insipid cheescake. I'm frustrated because instead of reading the reviews after my first try, I simply assumed I did something wrong and repeated 4 times to have the same result. Too bad. Now I'll try to contact Charisse to ask her for a real Tres Leches recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This recipe is very easy and delicious. The cake isn't too sweet but at the same time it is very rich in taste. Whenever I make this cake my family asks for more. Thank you Marti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Cake was like mush...tooooo much liquid. If you cut down on the liquid you add on top of cooked cake it would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This cake was too dense, cheesecake-like, had too many eggs to be spongy, the worst tres leches I have tried, and I agree with half of the negative reviews made for this. The author probably has never tried the REALLY good tres leches before (and only tried the mediocre ones), that is why she believes this is the best. But....I love the 3 milk ingredients that are supposed to soak up with the cake, because I didn't have to follow this recipe for it. I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
30 minutes is not enough to cook this cake. I cooked it long enough so I could stick a toothpick in and it would come out clean The cake came out very eggy. THis recipe uses way to many eggs. It was not spongy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was very good. Served it for mexican theme dinner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Although I had to bake the cake for 40 minutes, it was absolutely fantastic -- my co-workers couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States